a Life Lesson

Roxanne wan
DST 3880W / Fall 2019 / Section 2
3 min readSep 12, 2019

Here are some thoughts after I wondered the internet for a half-hour with no Instagram, Facebook and WeChat. I added WeChat because it is very similar to Instagram and I use it A LOT in my Chinese community.

In the first couple of minutes, I lost my mind while holding my phone. I didn’t know where to start because Instagram and WeChat are usually the first two apps to open when I turn my phone on. Since I can’t use them, I began to ask myself what else I could do. I went to my email box then. I saw three unread emails from Bank of America, Sulwhasoo Online and Hollister, respectively. If I could use Instagram and WeChat, I wouldn’t click these ads. But I did because I didn’t know what else I could do. I clicked the Sulwhasoo Online, and I saw an appealing picture about a new facial mask. On the image, it said: NEW. Timetreasure Invigorating Sleeping Mask. I scrolled down the email, and I saw more attractive images about this product. Ok, that was when I raised my shopping desire. I clicked the website link. It took me to a different page that wrote UNLOCK 10% OFF YOUR ORDER. I closed it because I was only interested in the facial mask. After I clicked the icon of “Mask,” I went to a page where showed different kinds of the mask. I started looking at every single one of them so I can choose one for myself. Later on, I discovered there were videos about every product how they were made and how to use them. There were professional videos that have cool shots and beautiful colors. After watching a couple of videos, I, even more, wanted to buy a product from this company. So, I went to the review session where people give comments about the brand. That was not helpful because there were both bad and good reviews. “So, should I buy or not?”

I didn’t in the end because I closed the page by accident (thanks God!), and I was too lazy to go to the website again. Suddenly, I got a message from WeChat. I look at the time. 7:14! OMG, 20 minutes already past!

I still needed to wait for another 10 minutes. That was a terrible feeling. I wanted to know who texted me. “What if it’s something urgent?” I looked at the phone with a massive amount of anxiety. I started sliding the screen from left to right and right to left for minutes. Then, I changed to open and close apps on my phone one by one. Honestly, I didn’t even realize that I was doing that! Ok, 30 minutes past, finally!! I opened the WeChat immediately. It was my mom, she asked me how my school was. Instead of texted back, I called her. I never felt this good for talking to my mom.

Ok, here is the conclusion from this activity. I don’t think I would have ever done this if it was not an assignment from the class. But still, I am super glad I did it! One lesson from today — I need to pay extra attention to keep my wallet closed in the future.

--

--