Mike Hodge
DST 3880W / Fall 2019 / Section 2
3 min readSep 19, 2019

--

Derive Experience

It all started with me checking the news. I check the news every morning on my phones news tab just after the democratic debate. From there I learn what our future leaders may have in store for us. I found out that Kamala Harris has backtracked on just about everything she now preaches about, especially when it comes to prison reform. I found out that she jailed minorities at an alarming rate for nonviolent drug offenses. I watch as Andrew Yang gave the American people an option to try to do politics better than any candidate and offer money to the families that are successful with their endeavours. Lastly I watch Joe Bidden forget that he said you would have to buy into his new healthcare system, then Julian Castro call him out on it literally two minutes later. This lead me digging around the more political side of my news feed to find out that Brett Kavanuagh is being accused of sexual misconduct again. Apparently this time he is caught again with his pants off at a party then pushing himself onto women who want nothing to do with him. I read this and feel nothing but shame in American society. I admit that I ten be more on the Liberal leaning side but, justice has no place for politics or at least it shouldn’t. Learning this information leads me to look into some gaming news to find something a bit more light hearted. This leads me to Youtube, where I start watching Matpat’s video on Ninja’s deal with Mixer and who ultimately came out on top. Turns out that Ninja is probably the only victor in this situation. Matpat analyzes the entire scope of the deal, from streaming treds, to advertising strategies, to the communities that gamers belong to as a whole. It’s a pretty decent video and I recommend it especially to any young gamers/streamers that are up in coming (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FT71iZqRXkU&t=884s). Leading me to more recent videos from the Game Theorist Channel, with their most talking about gun violence and America and are video games really to blame. I take this as a moment to take some notes down because I happen to be writing a research paper about a violent video game. I learn that indeed video games do not lead to violent behavior, there is just too much research and data that states otherwise. The topic on guns leads to search up gun prices and where I could get one for cheap. I type in “cheap reliable guns” and decide to click on the second link, arriving at the handgunsmag.com website where they tell me I can get plenty of handgun options for under 250 bucks. I scim guns and come to land on the “DoubleTap is a two-shot derringer-style pistol chambered in .45 ACP and 9mm. Touted as the lightest tactical pocket pistol on the market, the DoubleTap weighs in at 13 ounces and is only 5/8 of an inch wide”. I don’t find the gun interesting because I want it, It just really funny looking (I leave a picture below). This was my experience just in my morning routine. Politics, justice, games and gun almost sounds like a bad joke.

--

--