Zoe Lundstram
DST 3880W / Fall 2019 / Section 2
3 min readSep 9, 2019

--

My browser’s default homepage is Google, so that’s where my journey began. I searched for mini skirts. I need an outfit for a country themed party coming up. I realized the search terms were too broad. I thought about my frequently shopped at online stores. I was hoping my favorite boutique called Princess Polly might have a cute skirt. I clicked on their website and used the drop down menu features to navigate towards mini skirts. Then, I remembered a photo of a model I had seen wearing a cow print mini skirt. That would be perfect. I used the search bar and typed in “cow print” in hopes of a skirt. They did not have a cow print mini skirt. They did, however, have a cow print top and a cow print phone case. Super upsetting. I gave up on my dream and searched the site for “gingham” instead. Gingham is a checkered print which I thought could give off country vibes. It resulted in a lot of checkered mini skirts and dresses but it was more school girl than country. Again, my plan was foiled. I decided to pivot back to my cow print mini skirt idea, and popped it back into Google. I selected the “shopping” tab, and it resulted in a lot of cheap looking mass produced skirts from sketch websites. The cow print was not going to happen, apparently. I had to resist the urge to look up country themed outfits on Instagram because that is like the actual one rule we aren’t supposed to break on this quest. I decided Pinterest was the solution, a website I absolutely adore. I click the icon in my favorites and it takes me to a beautiful dashboard of cute outfits, recipes, and fall decór inspiration. I click in the search bar and type “country themed outfits.” The results are a lot of ads for stupid T shirts that say things like “beer never broke my heart.” Not exactly what I was going for. I get distracted and think about the cute fall pictures and go to my Pinterest board called FALL INTO AUTUMN. I made it in middle school and thought the name was adorable. I was right. The board has pictures of pumpkins and leaves and plaid and it makes my heart excited for cooler weather and feeling cozy. I spend another ten minutes or so scrolling around staring at the beautiful orange and brown pictures before realizing I still don’t have an outfit for the event. I decide I can just wear my plaid shirt and leggings as long as I put effort into my hair and makeup. I go to YouTube to find the perfect fall makeup tutorial. I find one by StilaBabe09 where she uses a Morphe 350F eyeshadow pallete (one that I have too, bonus!) with all these gorgeous fall colors and a dark maroon lipstick. I decide this is the look and bookmark the video for later reference. Thank god for the Internet.

--

--