Down the YouTube Rabbit Hole…

AUSTIN BRADFIELD
DST 3880W / Fall 2019 / Section 2
3 min readSep 12, 2019

It was around 2am and I thought, “What would be a better way to spend my night then to get on YouTube and watch hours of useless content? Nothing.”, and that is exactly what I did. I started off by browsing the trending page to find what the world was obsessing over, and here is what I found… Introducing iPhone 11 Pro- Apple was first on the list, and I was captivated by how the new iPhone 11 Pro had not only one, not two, but three cameras!?! I started to wonder about how this was possible, but my attention span got cut short once I went to my home page and found a video titled, The Biggest Female Albums of Each Year | 1960–2019| and of course I clicked on it. I was then immersed in the rich history of female artist who dominated there respected years. Soon after, I saw a video from the react channel that caught my eye, K-Pop Fans React To And MEET K-Pop Stars (ATEEZ), I then watched random people watch music videos from the group ATEEZ and got to also witness the fans reaction to meeting the group in real life. I was low-key jealous, because I kind of would like to meet them, yet I still really didn’t know the group. After, I saw multiple videos relating to K-Pop show up on my recommended list, and yet again the enticing content had me in its hands. I started to watch live performances of different K-Pop acts, and then I dived deeper. I started to watch videos that would show certain groups and their funny moments, times where their voice cracked, and “crack” videos of the idols being complete weirdos. However, I soon found myself watching the new JOKER trailer, and wondering how good Joaquin Phoenix is going to be as the new Joker! I started to dive deep into another realm of comic books, and Marvel vs. DC movies. After watching people debate over the two companies I started to watch clips of different scenes from my favorite Marvel movies, and yes, I am a Marvel fan. One of my favorite scenes that I encountered on this YouTube Marvel Universe journey was from Iron Man 2 and it’s when Black Widow basically beats up like 5 men in a hallway with her ease and bad-ass moves. At this point I should have stopped and went to bed, but nope, I kept going. The next video I found myself watching was Tasty videos and how to make a buttery croissant, and for the first time that night I learned something. When it comes to a buttery croissant it’s all about the layers and making sure the butter doesn’t melt until all the layers are complete. From then on, I couldn’t stop watching food videos. First it was chicken fettuccine, then it was the perfect lava cake, and so on. I not only wanted to cook these recipes, but I started to get hungry as well. I decided to watch something else, and eventually ended up watching Kelly Clarkson’s new day-time talk show, which by the way was very entertaining. It’s crazy to think that I spent 3 hours watching nothing really and knowing I would do it again the next night. What is it with the internet, and why are we so consumed with media that has no real benefit in our lives? Who knows? All I know is I have to go and check Instagram and make sure my recent post is doing well…

--

--