The Infinity of Searches

Alice
DST 3880W / Fall 2019 / Section 2
3 min readSep 12, 2019

First thing I found myself doing when wandering the internet was going to youtube and clicking on the homepage basically where I can see what’s new based of the channels I subscribed to and the kinds of videos I watch. After watching a few videos of the REACT channel and some food videos, I opened a new tab and typed in Netflix, scrolled through recently added movies, and decided to check out the movie “The Perfection” which was pretty disturbing.

I then started to browse amazon for anything interesting to buy and thought about wanting my music to be played louder in the house so I got a bluetooth speaker. With youtube being my go to, that’s where I wandered back and once again checked out the home page, refreshed again and again, and each time there were always something new. There were endless videos and channels I could take a look at. I kept thinking on how the internet is an infinitive space which is true since every time I scroll through youtube, it keeps loading more videos. There’s so much stuff I just can’t keep track of. I typed in google sitting there for several minutes pondering over what to search. My mind was just at a blank, and then I thought about how this was stupid because I’m just sitting here trying to figure what I want to know about the world while eating. I searched for a couple of movies ratings like IT Chapter 2, and new movies coming up. Since I can’t live without music , iTunes is like youtube and I go to my playlist to play a couple of hits in my book. Heading back to youtube, I’ve noticed that there is literally videos that were just being uploaded which just shows how mainstream youtube is being the biggest platform in the world.

Getting towards the end of my session, I almost forgot about Vudu movies and Tv service, and found something new to watch which was fun. Then what? I just stumbled upon on youtube the apple company is making an iPhone 11??!! I honestly couldn’t believe it! Sure we’ve gotten to iPhone xs Max, but come on! I thought they would be done by now! Just shows that technology really doesn’t stop and keeps evolving. If it weren’t for youtube letting me know about this new invention, I wouldn’t have ever guessed they would. Sorry to keep talking about youtube, but it is basically my life, and going back to my own channel, I saw that I am now up to 21.4K subscribers. My whole session of wandering the internet didn’t

necessarily consist of anything brand new to discuss but has made me more conscious of what I was doing in the present moment and makes me realize that wow time doesn’t stop nor does the internet. There will always be more, and there is no way a person like me would be able to get through everything even just youtube itself. Overall, I broadly think about how the internet is such a vast positive and negative space for connections and entertainment to be made in which for my purpose is for simply momentary happiness.

--

--