Maci Barnes
DST 3880W / Spring 2019 / Section 2
3 min readFeb 14, 2019

--

Internet Explorer

I started my journey where all worthwhile adventures begin: Tumblr. I scrolled through my dashboard about a minute before coming across a quote by George Moore. After going to his Wikipedia I learned that he was an Irish novelist during the late 19th and early 20th century. I then found out his great-uncle was president of a province in “the short-lived Irish Republic” and decided to see what that was about. Apparently, it was a puppet state during the Irish Rebellion that resulted from the French Revolutionary words. When I googled these wars, I found a YouTube video titled “French Revolutionary Wars: War of the First Coalition” which was just an animation of a map of Europe showing when different sides of the war held different parts of the country. One of the recommended videos was “Getting Dressed In 1665 Delft” which I decided to watch next. The person doing the voice-over for that video mentioned the little ice age, which I googled and is apparently a time spanning almost six hundred years when Europe and North America had colder winters than we do today.

This made me think of the Ice Age movies and I wanted to see if there were any conspiracy theories about them. I found a reddit page that talked about a theory that these movies were set in the future after humans have mostly wiped themselves out. Then I remembered that we’re ruining the planet’s ability to sustain life and decided to see what I could do to help out with that and found an article on Business Insidercalled, “How a last-ditch ‘planet-hacking plan could keep Earth habitable for longer.” This article is largely about geo-engineering, which is thought to be a possible short-term solution for cooling the planet and buying more time to actually solve the problem. Apparently, this idea comes from the way more sunlight is reflected away from the planet when volcanoes fill the skies with sulfur.

At this point I got really excited about the reminder of the existence of volcanoes so I looked at Google Image results for “volcanoes” until finding one that led to an article about Europe’s most active volcano, Mt. Etna, slowly falling into the sea. At the end of this article, they mention that a new island in Hawaii was formed after Kilauea (volcano) finished an eruption that lasted over two months. After finding an article about this new island, the pictures reminded me of the Disney movie Moana, which I then googled. In reading an article about the creation of the movie from Vanity Fair I learned that Moana was actually “one of Disney’s most culturally authentic endeavors yet.” I decided to stop my exploring at this point, as I was feeling very positive about the direction society is headed in, and I wanted to bask in that feeling.

--

--