They Call Me ‘Yung Flâneur’

Andre Steward
DST 3880W / Spring 2019 / Section 2
3 min readFeb 14, 2019

Though I was excited to begin this exercise, one of the biggest struggles I found was where to start. Because of this, the first place I went was a random word generator. After one suggestion, I was off on my journey, google searching the word “wheel”. I was surprised to find that the first thing that came up was a site called Wheel Decide. It had an operating wheel with different food options, like “Burgers”, “Caribbean”, and “Breakfast”. Scrolling down, I found out I could make my own wheels in case I needed to make a decision. There were also wheels that people shared. One was called “Years to Come” and, unlike the wheel that was on the page originally, I was not able to see the options, just a lot of different colors. When I clicked on it, it landed on a what space and “2109” went across my screen. So I decided to look into what would happen if I looked up that year.

After the google search, “2109”, I was taken to a magical site called drugs.com. There, I learned a lot of information about the V2109. It goes on to say that another name of this white pill is Amlodipine Besylate and that it helps with high blood pressure, heart failure, and many other complications. The website also comes with a pill identifier. Scrolling down, there was a “popular pills” section with the letter and numbers that would go on that pill. I clicked on the first one and found out information about hydrocodone (M 367) that I didn’t know, such as what it is actually used for.

Hydrocodone

At this point, I knew I was done with this site but didn’t know where else to go. I went back to the random word generator.

I don’t think I had ever seen the term “waylay” in my life, but it came up after a few cycles and I decided to check it out. It took me to a website “waylay.io” that is some type of cloud-to-cloud data mover platform. Quickly, I assessed in my mind that nobody understands the cloud and the best thing to do would be to pick a different site. My head was starting to hurt.

At this point I ditched the word generator and went to a site I always go to: XXL. The difference is normally when I go, I go straight to an article because I probably clicked the link on Facebook or Twitter. Now, I didn’t know what I was getting into. The first headline was “8 of Hip Hop’s Most Awkward Songs About Sex” with an artist that I’m very familiar with in the thumbnail. I knew what song they were talking about in regards to him, but was interested in the others as well. I got to listen to some songs that were new to me, as well as be reminded of songs from my past that I nearly forgot about. Overall, getting out of my bubble of the web was beneficial. There’s many things in the world I don’t know about and can find out about literally on accident.

--

--