Bachelor Tea

Hopehenderson
DST 3880W — Spring 2020
3 min readFeb 8, 2020

I started off my digital derive by first looking up what a “derive” meant. I missed class Thursday because I was very sick with a high fever. After understanding what a derive was, I had a better understanding of the assignment. I love the concept of an “unplanned journey”, its right up my alley. I first started off with searching about this season of the Bachelor to stay on top of the tea, meaning gossip. For those of you that don’t know anything about the Bachelor, it’s very simple to catch on. The first episode starts out with 30 girls and the Rose ceremony lasts till about 5 am. I find that completely insane, it must be exhausting. I typed up Peter from the bachelor and visited the homepage that popped up. So many different articles popped up, but the thing that I was really looking for and caught my eye was the Wikipedia article on the right side of the screen with a description of who Peter is. Peter’s full name is Peter Christian Weber. He was on Season 15 of the Bachelorette and placed third. I then scrolled down on the homepage and clicked on an article with this current season of a bachelor’s contestants. This website showed all the contestants who are on this season (season 24). 30 girls is a lot of women for 1 man to choose from in such little time. I would never apply or see myself on the Bachelor, that is absolutely not my ideal cup of tea. I started scrolling through the 30 woman and realized that I didn’t recognize half of them. I then looked up how many women get cut on the first night and read that 8 women get cut. I can’t believe so many get cut on the first night. I went back to the website with all the contestants and scrolled down to my current favorite, Victoria Fuller. She is a shy girl from Virginia Beach. I wanted to know more about her so I went back to Google and searched her up. I went on Google images to see more about her and then I came across a horrible picture of her. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw her posing with a “White lives matter” hat. I then clicked on the image webpage and I came across an article that said “Bachelor Victoria Fuller is banned from appearing on Cosmopolitan’s cover after modeling ‘White Lives Matter’ attire”. I was completely shocked when reading this article. The article had a tweet that showed her and other models wearing attire and it was captioned “Victoria f modeled for a white lives matter clothing brand she’s gotta go”. This frustrates me to see her supporting this clothing brand, I never would have thought she would be an advocate for this. I came across another article at the bottom of the page that mentioned it was reported that she was modeling for a Marlin Lives Matter organization that focused on white and blue marlin from being overfished. They used “white lives matter” and “blue lives matter” rhetoric to place on their products. After seeing all this, I understand why Bachelor fans are upset. “White Lives Matter” is not something that is well accepted by the public. Even though the products reference these movements, Victoria Fuller has stated that her connection with the brand was solely for the benefit of the Marlins. Whether she knew what she was doing or not, she has had to take responsibility for her actions and face bad publicity and consequences for her association with the brand. I found this assignment to be very interesting because I got so focused on one specific topic and just kept hunting for more.

smh.

--

--