Owen Brock
DST 3880W — Spring 2020
3 min readFeb 8, 2020

--

Drip: This is a Digital Dérive

Friends, family, relationships, careers, prospects, the future. All temporary. Drip is eternal. What is Drip? According to the slang dictionary, drip “means in slang that your look or style is extremely fashionable or sexy.” Seated in the student center basement, my sauntering experience commenced in the Holy Land of Ice: Grailed. An endless stream of gently used pieces sought by the modern dandy. Hypebeasts, dripcheckers, and all around jawnz-enthusiasts all make their pilgrimage day after day in search of that next piece which speaks to them.

A lot of drip in this image.

After some initial browsing of the front page, my interest turned toward the articles posted under their ‘read’ section. A plethora of editorials can be found, all of which center around the modern fashion scene, from interviews with figureheads of brands to sick ass fit pics for one’s liking. My interest was piqued upon the article centered upon this past week: the first week of New York Fashion week 2020, in which a grailed photographer captured moments of the best street style amongst this week’s attendees.

This fit is fly as hell. I don’t even have much to say other than it’s sick.

In viewing each image, I found myself delving into the inspiration I take within not just my own style but of those around me. Seated just diagonally-left to me, my roommate Ryan sat working on his homework just the same as I. A bored expression across his face, his fit gave off an energy of a relaxed Sunday Afternoon, wearing a vintage Columbia fleece, some relaxed jeans whose name escaped his mind, and finally his prized Notre chuck tailors. I knew the image above would ring to his desire, illustrating several layered coats and black tabi (by Margiela) sneakers.

“Ryan, this is you,” I said, rotating my laptop to his viewing. His eyes electrified with inspiration.

“Send me that picture.” He asked, to which I immediately followed, hoping only to help him in his quest to seek drip enlightenment.

This is a picture of Ryan’s style for reference. He’s the one on the left with the green jacket.

Regardless, my dérive continued onward, selecting another article: an interview with Alyx’s Matthew Williams. Williams discusses his use of materials, desire for the future of the brand, and his early roots in California. I tend to enjoy the interviews Grailed completes. They ask thought-provoking questions, especially in relation to designers, before posting a collection of used clothing beneath the interview all from the same brand as interviewed above.

Finally, I decided it was time to go back to browsing. After all, in this experiment, the goal is to saunter, to walk through the website without a goal in mind. And yet, in the end, I found my next piece. In the fall of 2019, two fashion houses, APC, and Braindead collaborated on a collection together a fun blend of APC’s minimalism with the added touch of Braindead’s creative colors.

Rotating my laptop to Ryan once more, I said, “Ryan. This is my next piece.” The APC x Braindead chore coat emanating beauty into the eyes of my best friend.

“Cop it.” He said, a twinkle in his brown eyes.

At these words I hit the small heart, indicating that it would be saved to my favorites, hopefully to be purchased upon the date of my next paycheck. At the close of this saving, the alarm on my phone had gone off, and I returned to life as before: notifications turned back on. The moon of the do-not-disturb icon did not shine as it had before. The quiet of the dérive had ceased, and with it my sauntering recommenced in the real world, walking home to post this very article. Drip on, comrades.

--

--