Emily Roberts
DST 3880W Summer 2018
2 min readJun 14, 2018

--

A) I came into this world high as a bird,

From second hand cocaine powder
I never tooted but its in my veins

B) The first time you let me down I thought you were mysterious. That was the beginning of promises never kept.

A) Granddaddy had the golden flask

back stroke every day in Chicago

B) As a kid you were predisposed to this lifestyle, as an adult it’s what all your friends do but I don’t and that makes me a buzzkill

A) Tap a cap, have a lot and not a lot not a little

Don’t grade upon the label take a guzzle, don’t dribble.

B) I’m tired of your lies, you cover your breathe up with minty tooth-paste, but the clank of the recycling tells me you’ve already had your morning PBR

A) Couple of hits

One more cypher, then I’m callin’ it quits

B) You say you can quit anytime, but its never the right time.

A) I can hold my liquor

B) You stumble home in a fog, you come home angry and I remember every cruel word that you say. When you wake up for your hair of the dog, you’ve forgotten everything.

A) I smoke, I drank and wanna stop but I cant So I guess it’s smoking, drankin all the way to the bank

B) The alcohol has consumed you and your money. There is no room left for me.

A) Nothin’ is for sure, nothin’ is for certain, nothin’ lasts forever

B) I cannot fix you, you’ve twisted me so many times, I cannot bend back again.

--

--