And Once Again Bacon Saves the Day

Tyler Shirk
DST 3880W Summer 2018
4 min readJun 8, 2018

It’s not common for us to enter the internet with no direction, so when put into a position that you must then it can be hard to find a starting point. This lead me to start of in a basic way and use Internet Explorers new Microsoft Edge web browser. The browser opens up and instantly floods your screen with the local weather, sports, stocks, and news. All this news seemed focused primarily on popular names and big celebrities like our president Donald Trump, football player Julian Edelman, and the NFLs Robert Goodell. Each article focused primarily on what was happening in each one of these people’s lives which didn’t seem to catch much of my interest so I kept on scrolling through. One after another articles appeared, each with the same intention as the one before it, simply to tell me about what was happening in our elite’s lives. “Clapper questions Obama”, “Hiltons Brother Sentenced” wiz across my screen and start to make eager for something new.

This eagerness drives me to scroll a bit more quickly, but with every pass of a big name my anxiety begins to build. Amazon, Lebron, Mercedes, Clinton, and again Trump, Trump, Trump. This is nothing against the president himself, but seeming the same name so many times only drove my interest to find something new. It seemed like the only information you could find covered topics or people that you already hear about every day.

And finally it hits me an article covering some type of migration. The article was titled Why 800,000 people are about to flee New York and California. Yes, I figured that this probably had something to do with money, and risked a bit of political input, but I was remaining hopeful for something new. So, click, and then boom! Seconds into the article the words President Donald Trump sat in bold on my screen.

What else is there to do in a situation but to take a deep breath… stop reading… and to scroll on? Despite this pause I started to get a little annoyed. Ads are covering the screen blaring through the speakers and I know well that I could hit the mute button, but was trying to get the true flauner experience, which didn’t likely have a mute button.

So the search continued, but all that would appear were things that talked about food, sex, money, politics, murder and again food, sex, money… and again food, sex… you get the idea. Eventually far off to the right, in a small text, I an article titled “Photos of the Day”. Looking for a little peace I click and then again there stands a picture of our president. In a defeated manner I keep scrolling and end up passing by Lebron James and Carry Underwood. This is no surprise to me and I had almost no feeling about the photos since they were similar to everything else I’d seen in this half hour adventure.

And then finally, I finally find something new. Protestors in Greece, political risings in Nicaragua, and demonstrations in Chile. This brought hope to my “effortless” search, but I was to beat down to read anything serious so simply kept scrolling.

Food, sex, and then holy hell swimming pigs! Finally, finally something new. I never thought that these guys could bring so much joy/relief to my life… I mean at least in the non-bacon form. So, despite the fact that the next article was “Step Up Your Game in the Kitchen” I was feeling pretty good. The Bacon animals/pigs swimming around in the Bahamas had given me back a little hope in the internet.

Of course, after discovering them I had to search them and ended up clicking the 2nd (because the first was an ad) thing that appeared. At this point my 30 minutes were coming to a close, but good news is that I had finally ended up on a site that seemed to take me away from everything else. It just focused on the beauty of our planet and even though the site was filled with ads it had given me the ability to leave this project somewhat satisfied. This leaves me no choice, but to dedicate this article to those pigs out there who have always warmed my belly, but now warm my heart. Thank you for helping me find peace in this chaos of the digital world.

--

--