Blank Canvas- An Interactive Choice-Led Narrative

Ryan Schiller
DST 3880W Summer 2018
1 min readJun 23, 2018

For my Twine hypertext narrative, I wanted to push myself to do something I hadn’t really ever done. With that thought in mind, I made a (an albeit rough around the edges, perhaps slightly rushed) digital text based game, where links lead to different story paths, and the player’s choices lead to different outcomes in the end. Each choice has unique ramifications, although some choices have overlapping qualities and quirks. I tried to make each choice significant, but on such short notice, some of the narrative may feel rushed.

I wrote out a larger narrative than I could feasibly “allow to stew”, so again, it may seem a little rushed. That being said, I’m very proud of what I could do in three days with no prior knowledge of the software and I hope you all enjoy!

For additional information on things I had trouble with or things I would change given more time, you’re gonna have to make it to the end of my game (don’t worry, it’s not that long!) for an explanation.

Without further ado, I give you Blank Canvas.

  • Update 6/27- Images and Browser Connectivity Issues have been resolved

--

--

Ryan Schiller
DST 3880W Summer 2018

I'm a freelance writer with interests in Cinematography, Technology, Videogaming, and creative projects in general.