Ash
DST 3880W Summer 2018
3 min readJun 8, 2018

--

Dérive on THE World Star Hip Hop

I must say this experience was different. I came across a lot of interesting sites upon the internet, but I want to cover one of the most hottest websites out. That website is World Star Hip-Hop (WSHH: http://worldstarhiphop.com/videos/). I saw this site while scrolling through the yahoo entertainment page. WSHH is infamous for posting videos of violent fights, police brutality, public sexual acts, public shaming, child shaming, and child abuse. Many of the videos of violent events have gone viral all across the net such as twitter and instagram. They have helped spread awareness amongst the black community, so that made this site very interesting to visit. Once I accessed the site, above the logo comes an advertisement (titled Love Has No Labels) I actually clicked on the ad and It took me to an error page, so I wasn’t sure what that was about. Located on the navigation bar contains social media handles for WSHH such as twitter and instagram. One of the biggest things that i noticed about the site was the background itself. It’s like an animated background that was actually an ad itself. I pressed the picture and It took me to Datpiff, which is a website that allows you to stream music from mixtapes (I thought It was an illegal site so I exited quickly before my computer obtained any viruses.) The site has may attractions that may come off as an eye grabber to the viewer. There were links (attached with pictures) of interesting topics from the entertainment, to sports and movies that were trending in today’s news. The site is mainly popular for the celebrity gossip blogs that their writers publish. I guess you can say it’s kind of like an urban version of TMZ. I read some stories and even played some music videos that were trending. Under those videos were advertisements from Finish line to Pacsun (I’ve been online shopping with them). There is a special page on the website dedicated to urban rap artists that had music video premieres. When I clicked to view these videos, many ads popped up that would take me to site of merchandise by WSHH. I actually pressed onto the ads to see where It would take me and It took me to shop.worldstarhiphop.com (containing hats, shirts, hoodies, socks and iPhone cases). That gave me a sense that they were pretty popular to have selling merchandise and advertisements on It. Throughout this website I’ve come across a lot of pop up ads and distractions while trying to read blogs and keep a focus on one thing. Really the website had a lot going on with its ads and It just kind of seemed a bit crumbled and cluttered. That’s just my opinion, from the views and counts of audience visits, you can tell it’s pretty popular and visited often. Overall, my experience with this experiment was quite fun being that I was very attentive to every detail that came across the computer monitor. I was able to notes on everything from backgrounds to videos to advertistments. I think I may have been introduced to a new site to read those celebrity gossip blogs now.

--

--