Mr. Durant has left OKC, but has the Internet still shocked

Christon Harvey
DST 3880W Summer 2018
3 min readJun 8, 2018

I started my digital dérive on Google’s homepage. Let me tell you off back, this is one of the best experiences I had on the Internet. Maybe because I loved the plot the movie was taking me. As I started my dérive, The Game 3 of the NBA Finals had just ended. Kevin Durant was the number 1 trending topic on Google. Of course I watched the game live, and boy that man was Bad out there! If you don’t know who is Kevin Durant is, then maybe you should google him. Kevin or “KD” was once hated by the media because of a decision he made in free agency, has come to show us he is one of the best basketball players in the world. Kevin Durant has just led the Golden State Warriors to a 3–0 lead over the Cleveland Cavaliers. He went off with a buzzing 43 points 13 Rebounds and 7 assists, so it was a perfect reason why he was the top trending search on Google’s search engine. I clicked on Kevin Durant’s name, as I was excited to see this journey I was headed. I am one of the actual people who like Kevin Durant on the Golden State Warriors. He reminds of NBA’s own Kobe Bryant and Vegeta of the Dragon ball series. They were both two people who were once also hated for a quite time in their own storylines. I scrolled down the page of Kevin Durant’s name and found this cool photo of Durant himself you are seeing. A video shows him hitting a deep three. The same three from the same place he hit in last years game 3 of the finals. On the page, there was also this ad for Kevin’s Movie Thunderstruck. I seem to forgotten Kevin Durant was an actor for his own movie. I had never seen this movie, but that movie must have been bad like him because I forgot all about it. I haven’t seen anything about it since I seen the official movie trailer in 2012. The ad constantly kept popping up on every page after. It didn’t want me to prosper. It was full of hate like the people do in my city, but its all love. Since he is a Google sponsored player, Durant had videos on the page with him answering various questions about him that people often search on Google’s search engine. I clicked on the video link with the headline “Where did Kevin Durant grow up?” On the video he tells you that he is from a county in Washington D.C. I then click on the city Durant was from. Wale, an artist I often listen to, image with his name popped up along the side of Kevin’s. I clicked on his name. Then it brought me to results of his name. I then go back to the search engine and see Kevin Durant’s name and Wale’s name in the search engine together. I then am taken to results of their name together as a duo. I see a link with a song of Wale’s with Called “The Best in League”. The song is an interlude on Wale’s More About Nothing Mixtape, Where KD is asked similar questions about himself. In the video he also alludes to himself as being the best player in the league, and that’s also where my digital dérive ended. I guess you can say Kevin Durant beat the Warriors by himself. You can say he did it again. Mr. Durant reminds us that he is Rucker Park form. The kid from D.C. is slowly claiming his throne!

--

--