Twine Draft: Furball Adventures

Sabrina Edralin
DST 3880W // Summer 2020
2 min readJul 29, 2020
My Game Banner

My Twine Story, Furball Adventures, places a twist on the life of a dog or a cat as the reader is immersed in lifestyles that differ from their assumptions and expectations about energetic puppies and lazy cats. My intention was to create a fun, humorous, and laxed narrative tone with amusing imagery and a level of unpredictability. Twine and programming are both new to me, so I struggled with the programming a bit. I created and designed the banner on the main page and selected golden retriever and cat images from the Internet in correspondence with my passages.

There were various things I attempted to implement, but I couldn’t figure out all the way and thus excluded from this draft version of my game. For instance, I wanted to add navigation arrows that could direct the reader to a new page, include a progress bar, as well as display interactive star ratings. In addition, I tried to create links on the images themselves, and I also wanted to loop and shuffle several songs into a playlist. Neither of those worked, and are therefore not present in the game. Also, not all of the puppy passages have pictures to go with the text.

In total, ten possible endings exist for the cat route and two possible (unfinished) endings for the puppy path. I would appreciate any feedback on the overall gameplay, but more specifically with regard to the storyline progression and choice selection. I am also curious about which pathway, ending, or images you all like. I hope you all enjoy my game! Thank you.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1cjdJ92uWTyFq5kUVML4pvK7Xjcjv1h71/view?usp=sharing

--

--