Startup ideation: an idea for when you’re short on killer ideas

The obvious starting point is right under your nose

William de Torvy-Ballou
DTB Carbyne
2 min readJan 23, 2019

--

Photo by AbsolutVision on Unsplash

At the end of 2017, DTB Carbyne was started in an attempt to exercise my atrophying entrepreneurial muscles, work hard on my own ventures whilst enlightening and enrichening others in the process. Thinking long and hard about my passions, I realised that I found a deep sense of purpose in using my skills for socio-economic growth in sub-Saharan Africa. Great! But in what capacity? What does that look like? I wasn’t too sure.

As time went on, the “killer app idea” wasn’t coming and the desire to disrupt my own comfort and safety kept growing. This caused stagnation and irritation. But suddenly, the not-so-intuitive-to-dreamers but ever so practical quote by Arthur Ashe to “start where you are, use what you have, do what you can.” hit me:

Where was I?

In the FinTech payments space as a Developer in Test on the Android platform with a great end-to-end understanding of various payment solutions.

What did I have?

Testing and development skills with FinTech products and a deep passion and understanding for them.

What could I do?

Build things, work hard and leverage my skills and network to the benefit of others.

Conclusion: Why not do what I do every day for employers but for clients instead — and scale it where I want?

So this is what we’re doing. Here first, sub-Saharan Africa second.

Follow our journey on Twitter and Insta!

Do these questions help your ideation process? Let me know in a comment down below.

--

--

William de Torvy-Ballou
DTB Carbyne

DTB Carbyne, Investing, Entrepreneur🚢, Start-up Pipeline, 🌍