RE-DESIGNING DESIGN EDUCATION

Infusing New Energy in the Lab

Perspectives from DIDI’s new fablab manager

DIDI
Dubai Institute of Design and Innovation

--

by Simone Majocchi

It was December. I was meeting with DIDI faculty members, Mirko and Raffi, suggesting new content to add to the calendar. I was wishing to bring my maker attitude and experience to DIDI. But I wasn’t expecting to hear “you should apply to be our new Fablab Manager” as a reply.

I had visited the DIDI Fablab before. It was like being a kid in a candy shop: makers love digital fabrication, love sharing ideas, and love interaction. The offer was definitely the “thing” to fight for. It took three months to get hired: interviews, talks, dreams. I spent the days waiting for a response: planning things, putting together solutions, and imagining my first activities with the students. And then two things happened. I got a positive reply. And the world changed. New rules and restrictions every day.

When I was young my hero was McGyver, Murphy my friend, and “always have a Plan B” my motto.

I got in the lab just when social distancing and eLearning were starting to be enforced. I still had time to spend a few days in person with Hayk. To share our views and to start building our fresh new Fablab Team.

I was there when many fablabs [1] were founded in Italy. I have to say that our facility at in5 and DIDI is at level with the best equipped ones: so many machines, and so many new machines arriving. Our mission is to create a space where you can build “almost” anything you can imagine and design.

A Fablab is as good as its equipment and its team. This is what I hope to contribute by bringing years of experience, ingenuity, successful projects, challenging installations, and my attitude towards making. I continue to learn new technologies, and new machinery operation. I find every challenge a good reason to get into the lab, and something that gives meaning to the day.

Remote 3D printing system devised to accommodate student needs during the C19 Shutdown

To the students

We haven’t met yet, and it is not going to happen — in person — soon. Nevertheless the fab lab team is here working every day: to satisfy your current needs, and to implement new creative solutions to bring the lab to your home during these Covid times.

Your professors have prepared an eLearning curriculum and syllabus that will challenge the capacities of the lab and its machinery. We are totally committed to bring all that it takes to deliver. It is not just our job, it is our passion. We are really eager to share our knowledge and transfer our skills to you. I personally believe that learning the practical aspects of digital fabrication provides a “secret ingredient” to infuse in your designs.

I am taking the place of Hernan, who made such a great job in setting up the Lab from scratch. I am truly honoured to be on this assignment, together with Hayk, to serve you and your professors. I love team work, and I am looking forward to experience it together with you again.

The Fablab is being improved and restructured while we await your comeback. We are turning this time of isolation into a time of opportunity to bring in new machinery and a new attitude.

The Fablab is here, for you, more than ever.

Simone Majocchi

Simone Majocchi, DIDI Fablab Manager

N O T E S

1 A Fab Lab, or digital fabrication laboratory, is a place to play, to create, to mentor and to invent: a place for learning and innovation. https://www.fablabs.io/

--

--