More simple sayings

Mark Walter
A Monastery for Everyday Life & Leisure
2 min readDec 14, 2018

When even the simplest of things in life are challenging, it makes sense to aspire to live a simpler life.

When I can’t eat without staining my shirt, I should probably slow down, tie a bib around my neck, or wear plaid shirts.

I tend to bump into walls when I take a corner. My recommended solutions are to either round all corners, wear lubricants on my shoulders, or learn the art of passing through solid objects.

When someone says you have two left feet, it means you’re clumsy. So I went to Goodwill and bought two right feet. That set everything right. Because isn’t that a source of strife? Always needing to be right?

I was taught that “prayer changes things”. Yet I had to stop praying so hard before things changed.

When we pray for things to change, what keeps things from changing for the worse?

The oldest sibling in a family can rarely resist being the leader, even after everyone has grown up. Very few can give up the privilege that accompanies being first, or the best, or the smartest. It’s usually a lifelong addiction.

One day I decided that being the oldest child was an advantage I no longer wanted over other people. For one reason, I never felt I deserved an advantage. For another, I learned much later how much I dislike being in a position of advantage.

Taking advantage of others is something we typically don’t realize we are doing.

--

--

Mark Walter
A Monastery for Everyday Life & Leisure

Construction worker and philosopher: “When I forget my ways, I am in The Way”