The Book of Secrets

been wanting to write a book since my teens. I’m 65 now… and utterly bookless.

Mark Walter
A Monastery for Everyday Life & Leisure
3 min readNov 30, 2015

--

I don’t know. Writing a book seems pretty complicated. Don’t get me wrong. Sometimes I like complicated things, but then I get all squeamish over how bogged down complexity can make you.

And just a couple days ago I was reading Unsplash on Medium, and their Kickstarter for publishing a book. “When we first said we were going to make a book, we underestimated the shit out of what this would take. We’d built websites before. We’d written blog posts before. And we’ve started and are scaling a business. But man, doing a print book is a whole ‘nother world of crazy.”

So anyway, maybe I should write a book about things that don’t make sense. Yet somehow they do. I could call it ‘Thoughts Written in Disappearing Ink’ because who’s going to remember it anyway? Or maybe I could call it…

The Book of Semi-Modest Secrets

The Enigma Machine

Maybe it could be a little book of simple observations. Here are some short samples:

  • “When you’re left-handed, it’s pretty easy to admit you’re not always right.”

This is difficult to argue with. Because most of us like it when someone else is wrong… and we’re right.

  • “Sometimes I’m certain I belong somewhere. But then uncertainty lights the way for me, once again.”
  • “Complexity is good, as long as it’s kept simple.”
  • “It’s pretty easy to change the world, but it gets harder when you try to improve it.”

I like things that make you think, but are hard to disagree with. It builds consensus. Consensus building is good, because it’s a first cousin of inclusiveness.

  • “If you have too many thoughts, you can’t think.”
  • “The thing about Taoist and Zen paradoxes is their simple and infuriating way of making no sense whatsoever… except when they do.”
  • “When you leave no stone unturned, the moss can’t grow.”

That last one is for all those super-achievers. But I doubt they would ever have time to read it. What with all their objectives, goals and milestones.

  • “The longer I keep things at a distance, the closer they get.”
  • “Somewhere between right and wrong is where fault and blame are no longer important.”
  • “I keep trying to make things simple. It’s complicated.”

The thing is, we all find the river a bit more muddy than we care to admit.

  • “I think what we are all really after, when boil away all the things that don’t count, is what’s left.”
  • Put another way, “If you take away from people everything that they consider ‘right’, all you have is what’s left.”

--

--

Mark Walter
A Monastery for Everyday Life & Leisure

Construction worker and philosopher: “When I forget my ways, I am in The Way”