Word of the Day: Atheists

How does God view atheists?

Mark Walter
A Monastery for Everyday Life & Leisure
3 min readDec 13, 2015

--

We already know how atheists view God. So I thought it would be interesting to find out how God views atheists. First things first, and so on.

It would appear that God does not believe atheists exist, despite their many successes, and despite the many signs that they actually do exist.

Atheists are bit befuddled by this concept. On the one hand they don’t believe in God either, so it would seem the score was even. A tie. Not bad when you’re playing God hockey. Yet, on the other hand it’s somewhat offensive to atheists to think that God would not be bothered to believe in them. As if they matter.

Atheists state that God doesn’t matter. But let’s stop for a minute, and ask a question. How could God matter if matter is descended from God? That’s like saying wood does not exist because it’s not a house. Yet, we all know houses come from wood, even though houses aren’t trees.

Disturbing questions aren’t one-way streets

Atheists are quite adept at asking a very disturbing question: how is it possible that you can possibly believe in God? I guess what they are doing is deduction. For example, if there is no evidence of God, then God doesn’t exist. And they are also claiming in their odd sort of way, that the scientific method would suggest that if you do not believe in God, God does not exist. I know I’m oversimplifying things a bit, but am I? In any case, I’m not sure these rationalizations are truly based on good science or even sound logic.

But in any case…

It seems reasonable that if God does not believe in atheists, atheists must not exist either. Yet, they do appear to exist. Naturally, this implies that God exists. Otherwise, atheists would not be here.

Of course, this line of reasoning leads to a dizzying array of questions. For example, if atheists do not believe in God, then God must exist. This is clearly logical. It’s logical because why would they even be talking about God if he didn’t really exist? I would never deny that ice cream exists, because my denial is proof that ice cream does, in fact, exist. In fact, my denial is probably highly indicative of a late night craving.

Relativity and dogma

One day I asked an atheist friend of mine if he would mind leading me in an atheist word of prayer. He smiled, and then quickly frowned. I then asked him if he would mind leading me in an atheist doxology. You know, to collect money. This time he laughed. I figured God or no God, collection plates are always useful.

Soon my head began spinning. Because I was starting to examine the word itself, atheist. It seemed really clear to me what the word actually means: an atheist is ‘a theist’. Surely this must be a secret society, I thought.

A few days later, another unoriginal thought percolated up from ‘that which does not exist’. That maybe the God who does not exist had, perhaps, infiltrated the secret atheist society. Because there it was. In plain English. That they are all theists. A theist here, a theist there. Atheists everywhere. Damn clever move.

I subsequently tested this theory out. The atheists became extremely offended when I suggested that God had infiltrated them. A few snickered, but most were defensive. To be very clear, they remained quite dogmatic that God did not exist. Which of course always raises the question of defending dogma.

Are people who are dogmatic truly truth seekers?

Anyway, I’m going to post this on an atheist site. I may not reveal my true identity. Out of concern that I may become dogmatic. I’ve been there, done that. And trying to not do it right now.

--

--

Mark Walter
A Monastery for Everyday Life & Leisure

Construction worker and philosopher: “When I forget my ways, I am in The Way”