Tech Options-Season 34 Updates

Vamp2
[Duel Links] A Guide to Playing Vampires
2 min readNov 11, 2018
Enemy Controller or Hey, Trunade?

Trunade vs. Enemy Controller: With more of everyone else playing Trunade towards the beginning of S34, any set spell/trap cards like Widespread Ruin are likely to just bounce back to your hand. Since this applies to ECon, I’ve seen people opt for going double trunade.

  • While I drew my second Trunade only 2–3 days ago, I immediately saw some irreliabe outcomes to taking Trunade. Against Amazoness Onslaught and other flippable traps (including our own Vampire Takeover), Trunade isn’t a reliable backrow clear when it needs to be for taking up an entire semi-forbidden slot.
  • I’ve tried 1 Econ 1 Trunade, but it wasn’t reliable enough nor did the cards show up at the right time as would in a good deck.
  • As I was nearing KoG, I was up against more Masked Heroes. For such matchups, ECon proved more useful.

Cosmic Cyclone: Great for clearing an important set spell/trap and for getting your LP down for skills that you require you to do so. While extremely good against certain decks, cosmic cyclone isn’t for every matchup.

  • Missing a cosmic cyclone can put you behind so much that it may cost game (and has done so for both me and my opponents). It’s easier to bait out a cyclone as the card can’t negate an activation from occuring. Cyclones are best against set cards with more rigid activation conditions. That way, your opponents can’t activate the card you’re targetting.

Forbidden Chalice: I saw this in more traditional vampire decks. Chalice is one of the best ways to negate effect monsters; if anything, it gives players creative room for a 400 atk buff.

Other cards such as Wall of Disruption, Mirror Wall, Paleozoic Canadia, and Relinkuriboh are tech cards that fit most other decks for similar reasons. As such, they will not be discussed due to their generic fit and similar usage.

--

--