Goodbye…..and thanks for tuning in!!

Gavin McLaughlin
Dundalk Sport
Published in
2 min readJan 13, 2020

Hi folks, just letting you know that I have made the decision to bring the curtain down on Dundalk Sport and take up a full-time position with Dundalk FC.

I would like to sincerely thank everybody who contributed to Dundalk Sport over the past three years. To the players and managers of various teams, the club officials and committee members who submitted weekly reports, the photographers who sent pictures, and the people who gave up their free time to record podcasts and videos, I salute you all!

I could not sign off without paying tribute to the various sponsors who bought into the idea of providing a free, local sports news service, notably Maurice and Robert at Felda, Emma and Ger at Fyffes and Alan at UHY FDW. They kept the show on the road for three years and I would like to thank them for their unwavering support.

For the past 13 years, I have covered all aspects of local sport and loved every minute of it. The decision to close Dundalk Sport was an extremely difficult one to make but the opportunity to become part of the media team at a club I love was one I could not pass up and I genuinely cannot wait to get started.

Thanks for tuning in. I’ll see you at Oriel!
Gavin

--

--