In the Wake of Empires (June-August 2006)

Duleepa Wijayawardhana
This is our life
Published in
2 min readSep 3, 2006

In June 2006, I embarked on a journey around the world. At the time, it was ostensibly my sabbatical from BioWare Corp. where I was then working. The journey took me across Europe, to the highest point on the continent on Mt. Elbrus, across Russia, Mongolia before finishing in China. In 2012, I resurrected the old journal and site which is what you find here. Six years have passed and there are a few things missing from this journal, things I realized many years hence.

For one thing: This trip is truly dedicated to one friend Nils and his remarkable brush with death. Nils and his family showed me that working as hard as I did wasn’t all there was to life. This trip was a manifestation of that realization. Nils, I am proud to know you, and though I don’t often talk to you, you inspire me.

Now, onto the journey!

--

--

Duleepa Wijayawardhana
This is our life

Tech geek, creator/entrepreneur, herder of cats (sometimes literally), world wanderer