Why I call ‘Change’ as my ‘Constant Companion’

Saumya Gupta
durbeen
Published in
4 min readJan 21, 2020

--

I vividly remember anxiously changing my clothes thrice and preparing to be confident as I braced myself for my first outing in Singapore with a group of people from five different nationalities. This was my first week of Master’s in Singapore, a foreign land consisting of a foreign language and an alien culture. There was a conscious effort to embrace the new freedom I had in a country which we all consider to be safe. Taking jaunty walks at 2 am along the Lakeside and experimenting with different combinations of clothing and cuisines made me realize that I was suddenly living an independent lifestyle. This metamorphosis from just being a student in India to now being the bread earner and taking unconventional decisions in a totally new country was the very beginning of the ‘changing phase’ I had witnessed in a long time.

Taking this journey ahead and giving seven months into my job as an Economics Teacher in Singapore, I realized I had developed a satisfactory teaching style and now it was time to seek for a more challenging opportunity that fulfills my passion towards public policy. My search bought me back to India and I shifted back to my home country with an inexplicable happiness to be close to family and friends. Little did I know that ‘phase 2.0 of change’ was just about to step in! My life turned again in just 20 days of coming back to India, when I was deputed to Rewari as a part of the Chief Minister’s Good Governance Associate (CMGGA) program. This was a new stint as I was not exposed to rural surroundings in India. Hence, my natural reaction was to Google ‘Rewari. ‘Situated in a rural area, Rewari is surrounded by beautiful Aravalli’s and Rajasthan’ is what I read online. While this is true, google fails to describe how you would feel in a semi-rural place, especially in comparison to my free-spirited time in Singapore.

The mystifying joy of working with the CM’s office in Haryana turned into plethora of anticipation, as my mind swirled with questions and possible ways of adjusting with an unknown district administration, that too in a rural setting. I was nervous yet excited to witness some of the life-changing moments which I could vaguely imagine but knew would turn into important life lessons. And I was right! As a CMGGA, the lakeside walks turned into car rides across beautiful rural Haryana, different combinations of clothing turned into Indian wear and independence in doing house chores turned into support from PWD guest house staff and my driver.

Living in these two drastically different places, (Singapore and Rewari) has pivoted my perception of ‘settling in’ as shifting back from Singapore without a secured job at hand was a risk for me but I have realized that learnings flow when you allow the unexpected to happen. Attributing to these two years, I can probably say that my only ‘constant companion’ has been ‘change’ and it has taught me a lot!

One of the many learnings which I reckon holds significance in everyone’s life is the importance of flexibility in perception. Before the CMGGA programme, I was oblivious to the perception of the rural population, police force and the government in general and hence figuring out ‘ideal reactions’ with these stakeholders seemed like a black box to me. However, the black box started to fade as I spent more time interacting and absorbing administration’s perspective. Though our thoughts are often contradictory, I have learned the art of listening varied thoughts by them, without any biases of my own. Even if it gets tough (patriarchal thoughts really bother me!), embracing these views has equipped me to see the society with a 360 degree lens and digging down the different layers consisting of problems as well as workable solutions. ‘Bringing a positive change’ is no longer a phrase for me but a continuous process of absorbing different perspectives (good and bad, right or wrong) and then working empathetically and practically towards changing the society bit by bit.

My constant companion has also taught me creativity and acceptance. Change is a part and parcel of everyone’s life and as life unfolds, embracing change is the only option we have. However, accepting the situation and showing gratitude for it helps in recognizing opportunities and building on it. Having learned this, I have started to embrace the beautiful rural surroundings of Rewari by researching on incorporating renewable technology in agriculture. The lush green valleys of Rewari inspire me to interact with farmers and panchayats and devise sustainable solutions for the mainstay sector of our economy.

My camaraderie with change has never let me rest in my comfort zone. In fact, it has always made my life extremely uncertain and sometimes scary in these two years. However, unfolding the irony of these two different worlds has enhanced my enthusiasm for life and I want to hold on to the concept of change for the lifetime!

--

--

Saumya Gupta
durbeen
Writer for

Currently posted as the Chief Minister’s Good Governance Associate in Rewari (Government of Haryana)