“A door of hope”

Testimonies from the people of Düzce Hope Homes

Düzce Umut Atölyesi
Düzce Hope Homes
7 min readDec 6, 2017

--

Düzce Hope Homes, delivers 234 housing units and public spaces for low-income tenant earthquake-victims in Turkey, based on almost two decades long process of successful legal struggle to access public land; participatory design; and community driven construction. With the rising of buildings in the construction site day by day, the cooperative members look at their future with hope.

Dursun Teper

I am almost 65. Until 15 years ago I had lived hopelessly. The reason of my hopelessness was the fact that I could not own a house. We experienced the 1999 Düzce earthquake with in that hopeless state. We were devastated. Following the earthquake the state built houses and provided the house-owners with apartments. As we were living in prefabricated houses we found out that we, the tenant victims, also have rights. Then our lost hopes started to grow. Then came The Earthquake Victims Association, The Housing Cooperative for Homeless Earthquake Victims, the legal processes, we fought for our rights. After about 15 years we have achieved things that we could have never believed we would. My best regards for everyone who contributed to the effort.

Leman Gürgen

Our cooperative, which was established after the earthquake, functioned for a long time. We, the members, mostly know each other. We have beautiful people whom I thought could become neighbors. I believe that the buildings will be earthquake resistant, durable and of high quality. I also believe that with so much effort they will be built durable and affordable. Hopefully we can move to our homes by getting the loan we expected. Good and healthy days for all of us. Thanks to everyone who has put their effort into this organization.

Safiye Alkaya

I am in this struggle for 18 years. We established the Cooperative. I consider that we succeeded. We bought the land, got the construction permits and started the construction. With God’s permission we made it up to this level. We didn’t lose hope. We succeeded with the help of people who did not lose the feeling of justice and are in solidarity with us. Hopefully we will complete it. Thanks to everyone who are helping.

Mürvet Üçkoz

We joined this project in 2015 through our friends. We participated because of the fact that it is affordable, reliable, and there is unity and the warm feeling of neighborhood and being neighbors. We are happy and hopeful. Thanks to all who contributed.

Enes Arslan

I am proud of the success which came with the honest and decisive works of the Cooperative. Thanks to everyone who contributed with their efforts.

Şengül Beşli

I participated in 2016 through my relative. This project gave me hope in a time when i was feeling hopeless. For me, there was nothing more difficult than living as a tenant. I am thankful that there is this project and the people who are in solidarity with us. I am glad I participated. Thanks to everyone’s effort and hearts.

Nuray Akbaş

The Cooperative became hope for us although we participated late after experiencing two heavy earthquakes in Duzce. We have a warm environment where all our needs are considered and solidarity exists. And when it is completed we will have a warm home and neighbor relations. I thank everyone who put their effort in it. I am very happy to be a part it.

Barış Kurt

I jooned in 2016 through a friend. I trusted the sincerity of the Cooperative. I am very glad to be a part of it. I feel Iam in a peaceful environment where there is unity and solidarity. I thank everyone who put their effort and those who are supportive.

Saniye Şahin

I found out about the Duzce Hope Homes project from a friend of mine. Its collective work with solidarity made me very content. And the fact that our own effort is included and that we work collectively together makes me even happier. We have a warm unity helping each other. I thank everyone who contributed. And I want it to be completed as soon as possible so I will be done with paying rents.

Kadriye Öztürk

I have been in this work for 17 years. For me it is a passion which I’ve worked and put my effort in each step. Düzce Hope Homes Project is our home built by collaboration, unity and effort.

Asiye Türken

Düzce Hope Homes project is friendship, respect to each other, safe construction, trust in each other, hope and it is good neighbors. May it be well for all of us.

Tuğba Türken

Although Düzce Hope Homes was derived from a sorrowful incident such as the earthquake it is a good example of solidarity.

Tuğçe and Tamer Türken

Hope Homes is an exemplifying project in Turkey. It is very valuable to be part of it. Being involved in such a project as a couple just married, even the dream of it is beautiful. Thank you Hope Homes.

Nur Sefa Çengeltepe

The point we came hand in hand after 15 years is that we wanted to own safe houses. We started a journey with Duzce Hope Homes project. Hopefully we expect to see the end all together.

Elmas Çolak

After 15 years we have achieved quite a progress. We put so much effort in it. Lets hope for the best.

Selim Zengin

Düzce Hope Homes is a door of hope for low income people to own a house. I hope it will be exemplary since we will own affordable and safe houses and for the solidarity we developed through our neighborhood relationship.

Şener Altundal

Hope reminds me of dreaming. And dreaming is the start of good things. So I dream of good things with Düzce Hope Homes. I am here dreaming a neighborhood where we succeed good things in collaboration with each other and the neighborhood relationships. Hope to dream of good things all together.

Okşan Yılmaz

We succeeded to grow back our hopes which we lost during the 1999 earthquake after an 18 year of struggle. Düzce Hope Homes is about our neighborhood relationships, solidarity and living in safe houses. I thank everyone who put their effort into this. We are very happy. Hope to live in our houses with good health.

Sıddıka Özbakır

For me Düzce Hope Homes is the first step starting a new life after all those sorrows we had in 1999 earthquake. First of all Düzce Hope Homes means hope, solidarity and cooperation. Being part of this project is working together, and reminding people that they are human beings. I thank everyone who collaborated in this project. I also thank everyone in the World Habitat as they honored us respecting our efforts.

Fulya Akbaş

Düzce Hope Homes is a living environment composed of solidarity and collaboration in every step. It is a home, a neighborhood where we can live peacefully and safely. Thanks to all.

Selim Horoz

Düzce Hope Homes means the chance to own affordable and a safe house with beautiful neighbors and friendships. It also means a neighborhood which involves our collaboration, solidarity and our own efforts. I thank everyone who have put their effort, mind and hand in this project.

Sıdıka Horoz

Düzce Hope Homes means a home and peace for me. Hopefully it is the start of days Iwill spend with my kids happily. Thank you all who collaborated. Hopefully my dreams will come true soon, I can not wait!

Dursun Altuntaş

I thank everyone who supported us in our fight as the tenant victims who believe their rights were violated after the earthquakes we had seen, and all who collaborated in Düzce Hope Homes project. Düzce Hope Homes are even more valuable since it is the fight of the honorable people for an honorable life.

--

--