David describes old hymns from his childhood surrounding the time of Lend and Good Friday. Are there songs that you identify with this time? What are they? How have they impacted you?

Nathaniel Hu
DVSG
Published in
2 min readMar 20, 2019

2 songs come to mind when I think of Lent and Good Friday and when those days approach us: Happy Day by Tim Hughes

and O Praise the Name (Anastasis) by Hillsong

Happy Day is a classic song to sing around this time for me because I associate it with baptism and with the joy and happiness that comes with it. The energy of the song paired with the lyrics make it a very appropriate song to sing during these 2 days, as the song repeats the chorus many times over singing that today is a happy day because my sins are washed away and forever I am changed. Those lyrics speak to me, as the sacrifice Jesus paid on the cross is the source of my joy and adoration to Him. Though he died on that cross, his sacrifice has paid for my sins from the past, in the present, and for the future.

The second song, O Praise the Name, speaks about the crucifixion of Jesus and the writer writes the lyrics in a narrative form from Jesus on the cross all the way to His resurrection. In between the verses which tell the narrative, the chorus’ speak of our praises to His name which should go on forever and ever. To me this song perfectly describes the sacrifice of Jesus and the story of his crucifixion in musical form. That is why during this time, this is a song that really speaks to me and impacts me.

--

--