Salt Water

Crystal Pang
DVSG
Published in
3 min readApr 11, 2019

This week’s passage is “I am thirsty.” John 19:28. I liked Roxine’s prompt of “Are you spiritually dry? Are you thirsty for something only Jesus at work in you can quench?”, but I’ll take a little detour from the question to talk about thirst in another light.

You’re stuck in the middle of the ocean, dying of thirst… In movies, they always say that salt water only makes you thirstier. A quick google search also affirmed this fact. I’m no science major but, from what I’ve read, it’s because the water is saltier than what’s in your cells, so it actually draws out more water than if you weren’t to drink it at all. Nonetheless, while in theory we can say this, it wouldn’t make it any less difficult to not want to drink the ocean water when you’re thirsty and desperate.

In the same way, are there things in our life that we’re tempted to take in, yet we know we shouldn’t? Things we’re surrounded by, tempted by, yet only draw more life out of us than it gives? Things that seem so promising, but aren’t. The pursuit of your career, personal image, popularity, comfort…

Going back to John 4:13, Jesus says “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

Jesus fulfills us in ways “salt water” — whatever that may be for you — never will. Where merit on Earth gives us temporary satisfaction, merit towards God’s kingdom gives us eternal treasure. Where work on Earth keeps our hands busy, living for Jesus gives us lasting purpose. Where love on Earth is limited, Jesus’ has no bounds. Where friends are a source of comfort, the joy and peace from God’s presence is unparalleled.

I remember when I moved to another city for a short period of time and had no real community and not a lot of friends (let alone Christian friends). It was definitely spiritually dry for me. I was there for work and remember sacrificing my Sundays in order to get more work hours. I didn’t realize how these small details were distancing myself from my faith. About halfway through the term, some church friends had visited, and I felt so encouraged by them when they were with me. We shared stories, hard times, and laughs. I could be so honest with them and realized how much harder it was to stay afloat without them there.

My friend once likened faith to be a car on the incline of a hill. It’s an upward battle, and if stopped, the car will already begin its descent. It takes upkeep and discipline, but not in vain, of course. May our strength be drawn from Him who gives life, from whom there is a spring of water welling up to eternal life.

--

--