Megan Greyling
DVT Software Engineering
5 min readFeb 23, 2023

--

Transitioning to UX: Mentorship is key to your success

The old proverb “You can’t teach an old dog new tricks” refers to the difficulty of changing the habits of someone set in their ways. However, allow me a few minutes of your time to posit that this does not always hold true.

After turning 28, I made a sudden career change, not a small one. Let’s start at the beginning. At 19, I chose to study Textile Design and Technology at Tshwane University of Technology. Not long after, I jumped into various career fields. 11 years later, and I realised things had not turned out as planned. I was in accounting then, married and unsatisfied with my chosen career. I wanted to be a success, and I wanted to be proud of my career and achievements. In every workplace I entered, I felt my talents were being wasted and that I was meant for more.

It wasn’t until October 2021 that I found my true passion for User Experience (UX) design. While working, I took a UX course that opened my eyes to something entirely unexplored, and before I knew it, I was captivated by UX/UI design and what it involved. I realised that I could apply my background in Textile Design and Technology to the field of User Experience Design, and it was here that I knew that this was the career path I wanted to pursue.

With this newfound passion, I applied for the Graduate Programme at DVT, was accepted, and started the course in February 2022. I was terrified, as I was older than most graduates and inexperienced in the UX/UI design field. But thankfully, DVT welcomed me with open arms, and my fears dissipated, making me feel much more at ease.

DVT’s culture is one of the reasons why the work environment is so friendly and welcoming. The principles of collaboration, inclusivity, and support create a positive and nurturing environment for employees. The culture of collaboration within DVT encourages everyone to work together and share their knowledge and skills, which fosters a sense of community among employees and helps them to learn from one another.

As a designer, the programme is a unique and exciting opportunity for those like myself looking to break into the field of UX design, especially for individuals who may have had a different career path before. The programme is for graduates with a background in design, technology, or a related field and those looking to expand their skills and knowledge in UX design.

The programme gave me a solid foundation in design principles and best practices. The course content included user research, information architecture, interaction design, and user testing, taught by experienced designers currently engaged in the industry and bringing real-world examples and insights to the table.

The project-based component of the programme is where I got to put my new skills and knowledge into practice, working on real-world projects, either individually or in teams, and being mentored by experienced designers.

The projects simulate the experience of working on a real-world project, and the expectation was to meet the same standards and deliverables as one would in a professional setting. I appreciated this approach because the courses I had done before had yet to prepare me for the real-world scenario I would face when entering the design space in a corporate business environment.

Throughout the programme, I also had the opportunity to attend workshops, guest lectures, and networking events. These events allowed me to meet and learn from industry professionals and about the latest trends and developments in the field of design.

After completing the programme — as a designer, I had the skills and knowledge to begin a successful career in the field. I can conduct user research, design effective user interfaces, and create user-centred designs. In addition to this, I also have a portfolio of work that I can now use to showcase my skills to potential clients.

The programme also provided me with a strong network of professionals in the field of UX design, which can be extremely helpful when it comes time to look for a job, as many employers are searching for candidates with a strong network of industry contacts. The mentorship aspect was most helpful and valuable.

Mentoring is essential to the UX design field and, if provided by experienced UX designers, is crucial for several reasons:

Hands-on experience

Working with a mentor allowed me to work on real-world projects, receive guidance and feedback on my work, which in turn grows my skills and knowledge in a practical setting, and apply what I have learned in the workshops to real-world situations.

Learning from experienced professionals

Mentors have already navigated the field of design, meaning they can provide valuable insights and advice on navigating the industry and help to avoid common pitfalls and mistakes.

Gaining a sense of accountability and motivation

Knowing I had someone invested in my success and available to guide me encouraged me to stay motivated and focused throughout my learning.

Addressing imposter syndrome

Impostor syndrome, also known as the impostor phenomenon, is a psychological pattern in which an individual doubts their accomplishments and has a persistent internalised fear of being exposed as a “fraud”. Mentors can help combat doubt by guiding you and praising your achievements.

I experienced imposter syndrome during the graduate programme’s first few months. Many graduates, especially those making a career change, may suffer from this when starting a graduate programme or a career in design. Thanks to my mentors, I felt like I was growing and accomplishing the goals I had set for myself.

Having a mentor who is an experienced professional in the field can provide a sense of validation and reassurance that you are on the right track. Mentors have gained this experience by working hard and experiencing their own challenges. These experiences assisted them in recognising their strengths and areas for improvement.

During the programme, I understood that my doubts and fears are common and that I am not alone in my struggles. My mentor also served as a sounding board, providing a safe space to express our doubts and concerns and help us find ways to overcome them.

Being mentored provides valuable hands-on experience, guidance, and professional development opportunities. Additionally, mentoring is instrumental in providing validation, support, and a sense of belonging for students like myself.

It can help employees overcome doubts and fears and develop their confidence to succeed as UX designers. I received all this from my mentors and the programme at DVT in 2022.

I recommend DVT’s graduate programme to any aspiring UX designer. It is an excellent opportunity for those looking to break into the UX and UI design field and is a stepping stone to the future.

--

--