Declaring Email Bankruptcy to Start 2023

The Fast Way to Inbox Zero

Josh Holland
DWE Project
2 min readJan 9, 2023

--

Have you checked in on your inbox since the start of the year?

If you’re like me, the answer is no. Having unplugged from many of my regular outlets and habits for a winter holiday break in Asia, I found myself returning to an inbox that was overflowing. At first I was tempted to wade through the mess — open newsletters, read news stories, and dig deep into the latest industry thought pieces.

Stepping back from what felt like an endless stream of subject lines and senders I told myself no. Instead, I declared email bankruptcy.

What is email bankruptcy?

Email bankruptcy is taking a look at your inbox and admitting you’re not making it through every message sent your way. And then most importantly hitting delete on everything in the inbox.

One exception I made for my email bankruptcy this year was to respond to correspondence sent directly to me from contacts. I made this exception because I value my personal relationships and don’t want to make friends and colleagues feel like I’ve overlooked them.

Every other email? Deleted without a second thought. Back to inbox zero for me.

Going into a new year should be a fresh start. Letting go of messages from the past is an important exercise to de-clutter and move with intention into the future.

What are you letting go of to free up energy and attention to work on more pressing goals as you start 2023?

[Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash]

--

--

Josh Holland
DWE Project

Technologist with an affinity for city building and transit 🏙 | Inquisitive Storyteller and Connector ⌨️ 🌐