Interview: Chris Wilkinson, architect

Here, we talk to the man giving Dyson room to breathe…

Dyson on:
Dyson on:
4 min readSep 20, 2018

--

Over the past 25 years, architectural firm WilkinsonEyre has designed virtually all of Dyson’s buildings — including most recently Hullavington Airfield. Chris Wilkinson works closely with Sir James Dyson to create unique spaces which are in-keeping with the values of a global technology company. Speaking with him in his RIBA award winning London Gasholder buildings in King’s Cross, we ask how he feels about being the architect of Dyson’s future?

Photograph David Vintner

You’re mentioned in Sir James Dyson’s autobiography, Against the Odds, published back in 2000. How did you first meet?

We met through Tony Hunt, a very talented engineer who I worked with at Foster Associates, Richard Rogers and Partners and other practices. We kept in touch when I set up on my own. James asked Tony to recommend an architect and I was one of them. I went to see him and got on well. This was over 20 years ago and we are still working together now on new projects.

Do you talk with Sir James frequently about his future projects?

Well, I am fortunate to have direct access to him, and we have regular design updates on all the projects we are working on. But everything is going to be judged against the Dyson standard. That’s the thing. So, it has to be right.

Which of Dyson’s buildings did you most enjoy designing?

I’m very pleased with the London and New York shops. James always refers back to the Paris shop, which we designed with him 15 years ago. We put all the vacuums on pedestals. They were like artworks. He liked that.

Is actually sketching ideas an important part of your work?

Yes, I always carry a sketchbook. A couple of years ago I put on an exhibition called ‘Thinking Through Drawing’ at The Royal Academy of Arts which featured 21 of my sketchbooks. So, yes, it’s very important. I have also noticed that James always has a one on his table when I go to see him.

How do you translate your ideas into what a client wants?

I guess my design preferences are quite austere and minimalistic, but I respect my clients’ various tastes and am happy to work with them to develop their ideas.

What is the most important part of designing a Dyson building?

The most important thing is the wider Dyson identity. It’s not about individual projects and products so much as the whole — which is getting bigger. I’m quite well tuned into how the design process works in Dyson and we try to design the buildings in the same way. But personally, I like to see the engineering. I don’t want to cover things up, I want to see how it works. James and I have that in common, I think.

Photograph David Vintner

Hangar 86, your most recent Dyson building was a restoration project rather than a new building. How does it compare?

I think it’s the most fantastic space. It doesn’t feel like a hangar, it feels like a Dyson building. It’s quite high with a curved roof and big mezzanines that create big openings. It feels very light and airy and modern even though it’s a Second World War hangar. The funny thing was that, in our first meeting about it, I’d drawn the exterior in dark grey. Without me saying anything, [James] said, “I want it black.” I said, “Oh, I’ve got dark grey.” He said, “Well, dark grey or black.” He wanted it dark and it was exactly the same feeling I had. If you made them white they’re big. Not ugly, but they’re big. Making them black is somehow gives them a chic presence. It’s funny because we must have both been thinking about it at the same time.

Do you like using new technology in your architecture?

Every building is an opportunity to do something new and interesting. I hate seeing buildings which are bad. For example, it’s easier to get planning permission if you use local stone, but nobody encourages developers to use technology. They build houses with a wet process: plaster, mortar, bricks. It takes forever to build. Developers who are only interested in money want to hold back house building because, if there’s a shortage, they charge more for it, which is exactly the opposite of what the government want. They want more cheaper houses. The only way is to get some enlightened developers and encourage them to use better processes — modern processes.

Is Hullavington a 100 percent fresh air office like Malmesbury?

Yes. That’s the first thing I say to people. Most modern units recycle air because it’s cheaper. But when it’s in open countryside? Dyson in Malmesbury was the first building with 100 percent fresh air. At the first meeting to discuss air-conditioning, engineers were explaining the technology and James asked: “What percentage of fresh air are you going to provide?” They said, “10%.” He said, “No, I want 100 percent. I’m not sharing my air with anybody.” The engineer said it wasn’t possible and James said, “We need to get a new engineer.” So we did and they made it possible. It is also becoming more popular because its healthier.

This article was originally published in Dyson on: magazine. To read more visit on.dyson.co.uk

--

--

Dyson on:
Dyson on:

Dyson’s quarterly publication about design, engineering and technology. Follow us @dyson_on to see what makes us tick.