Keep Your Advice to Yourself, Thanks!

Parker Gates
E is for Everything
2 min readJan 8, 2017

Lately I’ve noticed an abundance of advice on Medium. I’m not sure if the algorithm here feels like I need some extra help or what, but it’s coming at me in droves! Could just be that it’s the New Year and everyones searching for tips and tricks to be successful in 2017.

Well, I don’t really like advice. Specifically unsolicited advice. You can keep that shit to yourself. What I do enjoy is learning about other people’s experiences or about their habits. That’s both interesting and potentially applicable to my life.

So here’s where I find myself at my best. Do what you want with it. It’s not advice. It’s not even a suggestion. It’s just what I do and how I live and to be honest with you…I have a life that I’m super grateful for.

  • I Get outside. A lot. Daily. And when I have time I get way outside.
  • I drink coffee.
  • I read a lot.
  • I write a lot.
  • I have a small but very close group of friends. This allows me to get vulnerable with others.
  • I exercise all the time. I work out about 5–6 days a week. Climb, ride, run, walk the dog, yoga, classes, whatever.
  • I meditate. Daily. Consistency is key for me.
  • I sleep well. I get 8–9 hours a night and it’s maybe my favorite part of the day.
  • Therapy. I have both a personal shrink as well as a relationship therapist. Anyone who feels like they can grow without someone like this is likely fooling themselves.
  • Travel. My perspective is too small and get’s smaller if I don’t remind myself there is a bug huge world out there.
  • Dogs. I hear cats are great and I don’t argue that, but dogs are amazing companions and you wont find me without one.
  • I eat pretty damn good. I’d say my food intake is 90% clean, quality, real food. Garbage in, garbage out.
  • Personally, I work hard. If anything I have to be mindful about not working all the time. I guess I’m just one of those people that really enjoys their vocation.

Yeah, I know all these things aren’t available to everyone. Nor should they be. These are just some of the elements in my life that make it so enjoyable. There are things left out like my amazing wife, my family, and of course recovery. They don’t rank lower than what I’ve listed. I just dropped in things that I feel like anyone could experiment with fairly easy.

If you read this, reply with 1 or 2 things that make your life truly enjoyable. I’d be curious to see some of those things.

--

--

Parker Gates
E is for Everything

Coach | Writer | Consultant - I help busy professionals restore balance and ease to their lives.