How Community Influence You as a Person

As a community manager, we always talk about how we could add value to our community group.

But have you ever thought how your community influence you?

Photo by John Cameron on Unsplash

I have been part of various communities in my life, and following are the skills I think I have to build up due to the influence of my community.

1# Boost Confidence:

Photo by Jen Theodore on Unsplash

Being a part of an inclusive community boosts your confidence. I can say that because I used to be an unconfident person.

I was the person who could not even talk to other people in the room.

Furthermore, to be honest, I was a kid in my classroom who was too shy to even talk to boys.

This sucks…

Because it filters you out from the visible area of cool kids in the university.

But things started changing when I became a part of a local public speaking group in my county.

That's where I learnt how to break the ice and be prepared for any challenge you face in your life.

2# Makes You Positive

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

Being positive is one of the biggest challenge I have faced personally.

Sometimes it's just the situations you fall into.

Sometimes it's the people you are surrounded with.

And sometimes it's just your own fear.

But in all cases. Being positive and believing in yourself is the best thing you could ever do.

This is what I have learned from the church where my mum use to take me every Sunday.

I am not saying that you should start going to a church or a temple or even believe in god.

I am just referring to the fact that if you believe in yourself and be positive in your life. It gets easier than compared to when you are NOT!

And what other place is good enough compared to a place full of faith?

3# Increase Optimism

Photo by Izzy Park on Unsplash

You know, when I quickly did a Google search about the term “optimism” what came as definition?

It says:

Hopefulness and confidence about the future or the success of something.

You will be surprised to know how many people are suffering from not having any hope in their life.

According to WHO in total:

  1. 3.8% of the population affected, which includes 5.0% adults and 5.7% adults older than 60 years
  2. Approximately 280 million people in the world have depression
  3. More than 700,000 people die due to suicide every year.

Suicide is the fourth leading cause of death in 15–29-year-olds.

Said that if we are motivated towards life and our optimism is increased by just being a part of a community. I would totally encourage you to get on with this idea.

I mean, who wants to see youngsters in their neighbourhood to commit suicide? Do you?

I am 100% sure you do not want that. So if that is the case, then we can all encourage our youngsters to join communities to increase their optimism.

4# Teach You Cooperation

Photo by Aubrey Odom-Mabey on Unsplash

I still remember when I was a kid, me and my mum use to travel in public transport.

And I witnessed it multiple times that whenever there were a pregnant woman or an elderly person. Other people use to offer them their seat.

So I used to ask my mother.

Mum why is this guy giving his seat to the women? is it because she is fat?

And then my mum use to explain me.

No honey, she is not fat, she is blessed with a baby and her baby is currently in her belly. And because she is carrying the baby, it is very difficult for us to stand for a long time. And that's why this man is giving her his seat.

Photo by Juan Encalada on Unsplash

This was my first encounter with cooperation.

And it's beautiful how my mother explained it to me. Because then I started offering my seat to needy travellers.

This has happened because I was a part of that society where people encourage cooperation.

What you have learned by being a part of a community. Please share it in comments below.

And if you want to start your own small community online.

Checkout odd circles

It’s an amazing platform which provides you all the handy tools you need to start, grow and manage your community on your mobile phone.

--

--