Blog Post 6

Adam Dunfee
E110onethirty
Published in
2 min readApr 19, 2018

Original: Although many people in society would disagree, I believe that body cameras should be used by every police officer because it has many positive effects that would not only help the officers but also the citizens they interact with. My paper will discuss the positive and negative impacts that body cameras have had on the officers and society. The paper will then examine the lack of research and solutions for the major concerns of police cameras. Finally, I will defend my claim that cameras should be worn by all police officers by referring to outside research, statistic studies, and personal opinions on the topic.

Revised: Although many people in society would disagree, I would argue that body cameras should be worn by every police officer because it creates many positive effects that would not only help the officers but also the citizens they interact with. With this argument in mind, my paper will further explain the reasoning behind this by referring to outside research, statistical studies, and personal opinions on the topic. First, I will discuss the benefits of body worn cameras, and how they impact officers and society in a positive way. Next, I will discuss the drawbacks of body cameras and how it can be harmful to the public. My paper will then examine the lack of research and offer some solutions to the major concerns. Finally, I will defend my claim that cameras should be worn by all officers because it will create a more efficient, safer, and controlled environment that will benefit our communities.

Reflection: In this revision of the last paragraph in my introduction, I edited my writing by making the main points more clear and changing some words to emphasize the meanings. I believe I was able to make it more clear by re-wording some sentences so the readers can understand my ideas better. I also added sentences to make these ideas more specific. I think the revised version provides a clear map for the readers to follow. This is important so the readers know exactly what they are about to read.

--

--