5 reasons why I love to ‘create’ and you would too!

An endless journey through the roads of satisfaction to the treasure of discovering yourself.

Siddhant Mishra
Eager Elves
4 min readNov 1, 2020

--

Surely you will discover abundant posts to reduce consuming and start creating. Some of them may detail out the effects of such a lifestyle on one’s perspective, attitude, and more. Well, those posts are pretty inspiring. Probably, one of the reasons why I started creating random stuff pretty early in life. However, I could never do the explanation myself whenever asked the same question. One day a friend of mine asked me to simplify why I would rather sit in front of a computer on a weekend over travelling or partying with friends. At that exact moment, 5 reasons came to my mind clearly explaining why I create peculiar projects that are most likely used only by me. These projects also helped me cope with some tough times, shaped my personality, and had a great contribution in turning me into the person I am today. There was a strong determination on their face after I shared these reasons with him. Afterwards, their encouragement is what led to me writing this post.

Satisfaction, a strange addiction grows

Most of us have heard of “dopamine” and its relation to addiction. It often impersonates the feeling of adrenaline rush. Some call it a happy hormone and others believe it to be much more than that. Well, let me tell you this; whether it is a 10-minute video, a 500-word essay, a full-fledged development project or a DIY craft; you get a feeling of long-lasting satisfaction whenever you hit a milestone in any of these endeavours. And yes, that is addictive. It’s an endless cycle of you wanting to create something more, something better, something different and feeling good at the end of it. With the proper balance, it can be a side hobby or even a purpose in life.

Exploring, finding yourself and people alike

From the very first thing you create to everything after that; it is an endless journey of getting to know yourself and exploring the world. You will come across plenty of things that you love. But, there will be only a few of them for which you would want to create stuff. Being a creator expands the horizon of your mind. For me, it all began with wanting to help people around me. I started creating educational content for explaining difficult topics to my friends with tailored examples in native languages. Since then, my growth has been beyond anything I ever imagined. I made so many friends along the way and learnt so many new skills. Remember, you do not have to do it all alone. After you start, you can find various communities and like-minded people to team up with.

Confidence, thanks to all the self-analysis

Being able to deliver a project or content slowly builds up confidence within you. Along the way, you will discover what you love doing and what just needs to get done. This confidence reflects in your personality and life. May it is the task of changing a light bulb or fixing a piece of old furniture, you will stop procrastinating considerably less. This is all thanks to the fact that you are used to completing different kinds of stuff. It will also slightly shed a light on the leadership qualities within you. You will feel more responsible as well as informed in most situations. Nothing is more powerful than that!

Attitude, with evolving positive perspective

It might sound easy but after a few articles or a few sketches, you are bound to hit a “writer’s block” condition. In my case, diversifying my interests and being slightly picky with my topic gets the work done. But trust me, after having created a few projects you will want to create more and end up having a deep conversation with yourself. You would appreciate having the time to think on your own and create an opinion of your surroundings. For me, it changed the “way I looked” at the world.

Uniqueness, after a multitude of adaptations

As you work on a variety of projects, through self-reflection and exploration, you develop an exclusive thought pattern. For example, some writers like to narrate while others like to document. Irrespective of the topic, you would see a distinct pattern and writing style quite evidently. Developers use a certain development stack and algorithmic approach because of peculiar merits loved only by them. Nevertheless, once a veteran creator, you would adapt to any challenge or mould it to fit your particular approach. And who knows, you might get famous just for it!

If you are struggling to start and do not know what to create, then I hope the next few sentences will help you. Start by writing 10 essential activities/topics in your daily life. May it be grocery shopping, financial trading, budget management, English grading or as simple as views on various topics. For any of these things where you think you have a repetitive task or simply an idea to help yourself to express it better, highlight them. Now pick any one of these highlighted items and voila, you have your first project to work on. I recommend starting by writing a few points you like about them and proceed from thereon. Good luck and happy creating!

--

--