Retro-Review: ‘From Beer to Eternity’ by Ministry

Joseph R. Price
Ear Busters
5 min readMay 14, 2020

--

What happened to Ministry’s lyrics?

That’s what I’m asking myself because I just listened to their 2013 album From Beer to Eternity several times over the last week.

At the time of From Beer to Eternity’s release, Al Jourgensen, the founder, heart and soul of the band had declared it to be their last album due to the death of guitarist/bass guitarist Michael Scaccia on Dec. 23, 2012. Scaccia had died just after the band finished recording sessions for the album.

Of course, five years later, we know that’s not the case since Ministry is still around.

Anyway, there’s not much more to say about From Beer to Eternity going into this review. Yeah, I know, the cover art is goofy, but that’s been done to death.

I just want to focus on the album itself.

Aside from Jourgensen and Scaccia, the lineup on this album is Sin Quirin on guitar and keyboards, Tony Campos on bass and Aaron Rossi on drums.

The album

I’m not really sure what happened to Ministry after their reformation in 2008.

All you have to do is compare the lyrics of “TV II” from Psalm 69 and “Fairly Unbalanced” to see what I mean.

--

--

Joseph R. Price
Ear Busters

Weirdo who writes futurist-tinged columns about technology and science’s impact on society by night. Unfortunately, 2020 compels me to do politics too.