Lassie and My Piano.

Joanne Olivieri
Earliest Childhood Memories
2 min readJan 3, 2022

--

An Essay

Photo by Author Joanne Olivieri
Photo by Author Joanne Olivieri

I was about four years old in the two photos above. I remember receiving the piano and Lassie for Christmas the previous year. I was so excited to wake up Christmas morning and ran into the living room to see a piano with my Lassie dog sitting on top of it waiting for me in front of the fireplace.

I always loved music so that piano was a favorite of mine. I now wish I would have taken piano lessons but even so, I enjoyed tickling those ivories.

I dragged my Lassie dog everywhere with me. Stuffed animals and live animals have always been a passion of mine. I think my brother now has possession of Lassie, I can’t remember but I’d love to see my first doggie again.

Photo by Author Joanne Olivieri

This is me and my cousin. I was about four in this photo. My cousin and I spent a lot of time together and gave concerts for our parents on my piano. As you can see, she was holding Lassie in the photo so that shows how special she was and is to me.

When I turned five I was enrolled in kindergarten which I will write more about in another post which displays my rebellious years beginning at an early age.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Joanne Olivieri
Earliest Childhood Memories

Published author, poet and photographer. Love birds, animals, food, art, books, music. Contact jmcojo@gmail.com - https://medium.com/@jodapoet