Time

Scott Christensen
Early Resurrection☀️

--

The concept of time is woven throughout Adam Miller’s concept of attaining an early resurrection. He speaks to how time is a human construct of measurement — one that is completely necessary for daily societal functioning, yet one that is abused when used in ways to promote one’s own agenda in a selfish manner. Below are a few quotes on time.

Quotes from Early Resurrection

“In Christ, time’s grip loosens and things start happening out of order.” (pg. 7)

“What weighs me down and keeps me from entering the rest of the Lord? This burden is, I think, time. This burden is the future, manifest in the present as guilt, fear, stress, lust, envy, and resentment. And the weight of that future, of a perpetually postponed redemption, is crushing. When I lie in bed and close my eyes, I can feel it.”

“Time is heavy and demanding. I rush from place to place. I forget where I am and what matters. I feel guilty about the past. I’m bored by the present. I’m stressed about the future. There’s never enough time. It’s hard to sleep at night. Anger and regret are close at hand. Life is slipping away.” (pg 24)

“In Christ, the future is given as though it had already come. There’s no reason to rush. There’s no reason to feel ashamed. There’s no cause for brushing other people aside as I hurry someplace else. There’s room in the present for each thing to have its season. there’s room for agency and creativity. There’s room for Spirit. There’s space to breathe. There’s time for love.” (pg. 79)

“Repentant, my past no longer owns me. And, repentant, the future no longer mortgages my present. Rather than being a slave to my past mistakes or future expectations, the past and future become servants to my present life.” (pg 83)

“Love is a just a matter of time. Love is just a question of who I give my time to and, then, how I handle the giving of that gift. time, like life, can’t be kept. It can only be given. I give it by paying attention. I waste it by being distracted.” (pg. 93)

Discussion Points

In the comment section, let’s discuss answers to these (and other questions/thoughts) that you have:

  • How do you feel time? What role does time play in your day-to-day? Why?
  • How have you seen time bring you closer/farther away from living an early resurrection?
  • How can you step away from time being perceived as a stressor?
  • In what ways have you experience an early resurrection with your time?

--

--