Why the Other Non-Meat Food Groups Are Amazing

Elisse Lorenc
Earthvillage
Published in
4 min readDec 10, 2017
Image Courtesy of Juicing Nation

With the holidays coming up, and heaps of cooking to be expected, I think it’s high time to shut down a common misconception about vegans and vegetarians — namely, the idea that said non-meat eaters secretly miss meat as evidenced by their eating their fake counterparts. I’m here to tell you that’s complete bull. Just like how some people enjoy a steak, others love all the unique combinations that the other food groups have to offer.

Recently, I enjoyed making this delightful treat for Thanksgiving, a shepherd’s pie sans the beef, and it turned out amazing. My husband and I eat primarily vegetarian, which means we often have to get creative when it’s time to eat. Eating out is usually a challenge, and with the holidays almost here, that means we’re responsible for bringing our own entrées.

I don’t preach; people’s diets are their own prerogative, but thisdoes often lead to a few annoying problems. Friends and family who want to host a nice party aren’t always 100% on top of everyone’s dietary restrictions, and I don’t expect them to be. Hosting is enough of a beast on its own. It does, however, mean that whenever there is a special occasion, my husband and I usually have to feed ourselves.

And you know what? Yeah, it is frustrating, but I’m not going to waste my time pointing fingers. I have my reasons for keeping meat off the menu, and if anyone else is compelled to do so, great! Welcome to Team Green!

I’m writing this post to explore some tasty recipes that use REAL food, and none of that crummy Tofurky or facon. I was largely sold on the vegetarian diet because I already loved the variety of tastes that fruits and vegetables have to offer. My favorite aisle was always the fresh produce section, where I got to admire all the vivid shapes and colors our farmers have to offer.

So if you’re like me, and you’re stuck with the same dilemma, I have a few recipes that will hopefully keep your holidays happy, festive, and most importantly, meat-free!

Slow Cooker Veggie Lasagna

Everybody loves a good lasagna, except there’s usually the small issue of it being packed with ground beef. Well, fret not! This tasty treat incorporates spinach, mushrooms, and zucchini for a new take on a classic hit.

Pumpkin Pot Pie

Perhaps you’re looking for something that’s even more of a hefty meal. Look no further than this filling delight. Stuffed with pumpkin, carrots, kale, and white kidney beans, a slice or two will easily send you into a festive food coma.

Goat Cheese Quiche with Quinoa Crust

If you’re like me and have a love affair with cheese, then this dish may be the winner for you. Using a quinoa crust mixed with Parmesan cheese, it’s topped with cauliflower, mushrooms, and (surprise, surprise!) more cheese!

Nut Loaf

Admittedly, I never was a fan of meatloaf myself, back in the day when I did eat meat on a regular basis. A nut loaf, however, offers a slightly sweet and savory twist, packed with nuts, rice, and mushrooms, that seems too good not to give a try.

Now I’m aware none of the above are vegan, but most of them can easily become a vegan dish with the right substitutes. Worry not, however, as the following recipes are guaranteed vegan.

Veggie Stew

Sometimes nothing beats a good stew, especially when it’s below freezing outside. This dish includes all the best hearty vegetables with some white wine, rosemary, and thyme to give it that satisfying kick.

Roasted Carrots with Figs

For something on the sweeter side, this dish takes two awesome foods and puts them together. Garnished with hazelnuts, salt, and pepper, this can easily make for a dessert substitute.

Vegan Scalloped Potatoes

Scalloped potatoes seem to be a holiday classic, so why not make them better with a vegan twist? Mixing Yukon Gold potatoes with sweet potatoes, and adding in some delicious almond milk with sprinkled almonds on top, makes this dish a must-have for the holidays.

Cooking can be a time-consuming mess, and during any holiday, it’s usually one of the last things you want to think about. But I think the best way to cut through the dread is to discover recipes worth getting excited about, and I’m eager to give all of these a try.

Happy Holidays, Everyone, and Happy Cooking!

Recipes:

--

--

Elisse Lorenc
Earthvillage

An avid writer, who writes for many, including Earth Village.