Travels with my blind aunt — Week Three, Virginia Beach

A travel journal from illustrator Toby Melville-Brown on his two month journey around the world with his blind aunt.

Toby Melville-Brown
Easle
3 min readOct 18, 2017

--

Friday was the culmination of my week in Virginia Beach, the final stop, on the first leg of the Baking Blind world tour. Today was a chance to share my creative journey thus far, with those wicked folks at Easle. This evening (Monday) I fly to Shanghai to meet Chief Loved One, Daisy. On Sunday I’ll fly to meet Penny, to begin the second leg of the tour. Got it?

As I sit in the undisputed king of coffee chains, I bid the big British Sun farewell. Knowing I will next see it, when I return in just over a month. Now, I shall do my best to recount my time in Virginia Beach. A folder of memories, jostling for space in a brain, very much at capacity.

Firstly, why Virginia Beach (VB) ? Ok, so when Penny served as a WREN, working for NATO in Naples during the early 80s, she was relieved by fellow officer, Jo. Penny reached out to anyone and everyone asking if they would host her, on her Baking Blind tour. Amazingly, Jo replied and invited to her home on the East Coast. 35 years since they last met!

The most significant factor about VB, is the military presence. The largest naval base in the world is located just a short drive away. I was told military related employment is around 80%. The result is a very different demographic from those met on the first week, in San Francisco. If I was to seek parallels with the UK, VB is incidentally like Hampshire; boating, staycations, military bases and a moderately conservative nature.

Keen to engage with my surroundings, I was invited to a genuine article Country concert, by my darling hosts, Jo and her buzzing daughter, Katie. We saw the Zac Brown Band at the Veterans United Amphitheatre. I’m not all that familiar with Country Music, but Zac and his lot put on an absolute belta! And given the very recent atrocity at a Country concert in Vegas, the emotional influence of the genre was indeed, compelling.

Closer to home, was the recent loss of Jo’s husband and Katie’s father, Nick, who died of ALS just over three years ago. When Katie wasn’t upstairs printing merchandise for her ALS Sucks campaign (check it), she was jetting off to conferences, spreading the message.

Of course our week in VB was also spent filming kind folks, inviting us into their homes, cooking-up some delectable dishes. It was great to get an insight into some more humble home cooks, in comparison to the bombastic professional chefs of weeks previous. Penny of course was on form; conducting her relentless charm offensive, with a militaristic rigor. Her zest for life, never failing to galvanize me.

Oh my, we’re boarding… next up, Shanghai!

Thanks for reading xxxx

Keep up to date with Toby’s adventure by following us below:

FACEBOOKTWITTERINSTAGRAMVIMEO

--

--