Cultural differences in celebrating the new year in Japan and Malaysia

2. Chinese New Year

Saki Stray🐈‍⬛
East Asia
5 min readFeb 3, 2023

--

I have experienced Chinese New Year 2 times in Malaysia.

At the beginning, I felt like it was a normal holiday, but I found myself very involved and enjoying it.

In this article, I would like to share with you how I spent Chinese New Year in Malaysia.

This article has a previous story about New Year’s day
Cultural differences in celebrating the new year in Japan and Malaysia

1.Chinese New Year Decorations in Malls

In the Chinese New Year season, shopping malls and houses are decorated in red.

I have come to enjoy celebration mode since last year because it was not so lively when I spend time in Covoid situation.

When it is in New Year’s season, on 26th Dec is a bit different in Japan and other countries.

Since New Year’s day is very important in Japan, Christmas decorations will be removed immediately after 25th midnight, and replaced with the New Year’s one.

In Malaysia, it seems a bit relaxed and some of the malls remain Christmas trees till the beginning of the new year because it has more time until Chinese New Year.

At first, I was a bit surprised when a mall has both decorations, Christmas and Chinese New Year.

As the mall decorations are more dynamic, they need more time to install than we do in Japan.

Mall decorations are not only to see, but also to join the activity there.

Some malls have shops inside to sell seasonal goods like gifts, Chinese traditional clothes, and snacks.

Also, there are some activities in the decoration section. People donate to get lucky charms, write a wish and tie that to the trees.

Chinese new year events last 2 weeks, and it is longer compared with the Japanese new year.

People also celebrate even in the office, and lion dance performances are held there which is not likely to happen to offices in Japan.

2.Food we enjoy on Chinese New Year in Malaysia

Many Chinese restaurants and catering shops serve Yee Sang, a Chinese traditional food.

It contains vegetables and fresh fish such as salmon, with the sauces in separate containers.

The way to eat it is very unique to me, as I pick it up and throw it before eating it to bring good luck for the year.

I went to a Chinese restaurant to have Yee Sang for the first time.

We were all Japanese and didn’t know the proper way to eat, so imitated Malaysians as much as possible.

It looks very traditional, and I imagined the taste was like a medicine, but it was not .

It was very tasty and I enjoyed eating it like having a salad.

As a foreigner in this country, the most likely way to enjoy the food is in restaurants unless we are invited by local people.

Looking at Instagram, it seems that some people enjoy home-cooked meals like we do on New Year’s in Japan.

I also experienced cooking Chinese cookies last year with my Malaysian friend.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CaDsRuEh5_c/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

My friend invited me to her friend’s cafe to make it with her before she goes back to her hometown.

I helped her prepare cookies with seeds, and baked them in the oven.

During Chinese new year, when people visit relatives and friends, they bring cookies as souvenirs.

They are sold in shops as well, but I didn’t have a chance to buy it for myself.

So it was such a good experience for me to get a chance to have it and feel like a local.

I’m looking forward to enjoying life more like a native Malaysian next year.

3. Beautiful decoration of temples in Malaysia

During Chinese New year season, I enjoy visiting beautifully decorated Chinese temples.

Usually nothing is decorated or not very colorful, but from mid-January they are beautifully decorated, as are the shopping malls.

I’m going to introduce 2 temples that I visited this year.

One was Thean Hou temple which is located in Kuala Lumpur city.

It is one of the famous big temples in Southeast Asia, and attracts many people including tourists to enjoy its beautiful architecture and many lantern lights.

There is also a corner for incense and candles.

After praying, visitors can do lucky draws and buy New Year’s decorations.

Those activities are very similar to those in Japanese shrines or temples.

Compared with temples in Japan, temples in Malaysia have an open atmosphere and they even invite foreigners inside the prayer area.

If it is in Japan, the praying area has a more serious atmosphere and people are very quiet.

The second one I visited was Fo Guang Shan Dong Zen Temple.

One of my local Malaysian friends invited me to go there.

Since it is located a one hour drive from Kuala Lumpur city center, we headed there by my friend’s car.

It is like an amusement park with statues, monuments, and food stands.

It also has a zoo-like section where you can observe live deer inside.

The food stalls serve vegetarian dishes that are Buddhist-friendly.

At night time, the monuments are illuminated and they are ideal places for taking pictures.

There are many local Malaysian Chinese families and couples enjoying the new year’s time there.

What was impressive were the many Buddhist statues.

Compared with those in Japan, their facial expressions are abundant and I felt like they were alive.

Visiting temples, especially during the Chinese New Year, is a great experience to get a taste of Chinese culture.

--

--

Saki Stray🐈‍⬛
East Asia
Editor for

Japanese working in Malaysia, living like a local and enjoy traveling and food. I write about my experiences, culture gap, lifestyle, and thoughts.