City on a Grain of Salt

Vanja Nedić
Eastern Chronicles
Published in
3 min readAug 24, 2015

--

Ever since my early childhood, I’d heard about Tuzla. I grew up with a box of ‘Tuzlanska sol’ on the table. It was my favorite place that I’d never visited, as I couldn’t picture my life without using the salt from Tuzla every day. Oh how I missed Tuzla when my family changed our diet and we started eating low-sodium food!

Years later, I met some Tuzla residents and had an opportunity to share a meal with them. If you ever get into the same situation do not, I repeat do not, be surprised by the amount of salt they put over the meal. They don’t even taste it first. They already just know it’s not salty enough for them. If you still haven’t figured it out, tuz means salt in Turkish and the whole city grew on salt mines so this ‘salty’ culture is the real origin of modern-day Tuzla.

Tuzla (via)

Situated between the Majevica mountain range and mountains Ozren on one side, Konjuh and Javorik on the other, the city is sprawling. It is an industrial city for sure and you may think there is nothing worth visiting. If you are thinking this, you are wrong and I will tell you why.

Tuzla on map

First of all, you have to visit Tuzla to meet its residents. This fun, loving, smiling, and happy bunch of people will make your day. They are the main reason I love Tuzla so much. With them I always feel good. Their sense of humor is outstanding so don’t get offended if they make fun of you. That just means they like you.

Tuzla, Monuments (Bosnia & Herzegovina) via

Secondly, you have to visit Pannonica. Salt lakes in the city center are something extraordinary that can be found only in Tuzla. Their purpose is not just to provide a summer refreshment; instead with the realistic replica of a Neolitic-era settlement in the complex you can actually learn something.

Tuzla, Pannonian Salt Lake (Bosnia & Herzegovina) via

Third, when you are done with learning and having fun it’s time for refreshment and food. Good thing the city’s most famous food joint, Limenka, is just across the road! In a matter of minutes you are served with the best ćevapi in town. They are so good I always have to order couple of extra portions and hurry home to bring them to my family and friends while they are still warm. The police on the border always laugh but they understand; they have tried this heavenly food and they gladly wave me through so I can continue with my ćevapi mission!

With a watering mouth I happily finish this story as I know I will be visiting Tuzla soon, and so should you!

--

--