My 7 Days Journey — How I Start a Clothing Brand with $0 Investment in 7 Days

I’m gonna try to start a clothing brand with no money in seven days. An online clothing store with a $0 investment.

Awais gill
Easy Money Making
7 min readOct 31, 2022

--

online e-commerce store. passion convert into reality. passion led us here
Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

My 7-day journey to start an online clothing store business with a $0 investment in 7 days. I’ll tell you the entire process from designing to manufacturing to advertising. At the end of this article, I’ll show exactly how much money I make.

Day 1: Designing

The first step in how to start a clothing business online with no money is to do market research. Make an online store with no money with Wix and Printify websites. The first thing to remind in your mind when you start a clothing brand or really any kind of business is the customer. Who will buy our clothes from our clothing store? It’s very important to niche down and find that specific target audience that you’re going to sell to.

Day 2: Manufacturing

Day two and I will show you How I come up with my clothing brand. It’s a life brand that celebrates gliding and its valuation aesthetic and heritage then are a couple of designs that I made for the apparel. You can know that I am going with a satiny and minimalistic look.

I suppose they look enough good and consequently allow to get into manufacturing. How the heck do I form clothes with no plutocrat by utilizing print on demand? Print on demand is a process where you get a company to print custom products and clothing for you.

Only when the order is made no upfront payment and no need to hold inventory. If you don’t even need to manage packaging and shipping they do it all for you under your brand. The print-on-demand indulgence. I will be utilizing printful on their website.

printful website main page template. Printful website you can find a whole bunch of products you can print custom designs on and customize with their design maker tool.
Image credit: Printful website

Printful website you can detect an entire bunch of productions. You can publish ritual designs on and customize them with their design maker tool.

Image credit: Printful online store

You can upload prints append textbook and print on colorful areas like the reverse sleeves. Indeed the inside marker Printful really lets you order slices and indeed gives you a reduction.

The conclusion is I’ve no plutocrat consequently. I can’t really order samples. Technically I could just choose a shirt and sell it without ever touching it. But I feel it’d be a bit disingenuous to sell a product that I haven’t personally reviewed. I contacted the Printful website to give me some samples and I will give a free shoutout to them. Printful sent me samples and I upload them to my store.

Day 3: Samples

Let’s order those sounds they’ve arrived here are all of the seven samples. I ordered for this clothing brand launch I want to start with a small collection of just three pieces. So it’s concentrated and does not devastate the client with too numerous elections. I am now going to reconsider the nonidentical blanks and designs with you and allow’s know which will make the top three. I ranged two manners of hoodies.

The first is the cotton rubric m2580 I love the quality and consistency of this hoodie. Seriously feels ultra-expensive still I am not a monumental addict of these drawstrings. They are actually wide and the entire looks enough monumental. The alternate hoodie I got is the hanes p170. This bone is a great fit love the drawstrings and how its color matches the hoodie.

It’s a fleck slender assimilated to the cotton rubric but it’s not too slim. Still has a good feel to it I also ordered two types of t-shirts. The first is the Bella and canvas 301 great athletic fit and is really soft and a bit thin. Though the second t-shirt I got is the cotton heritage mc1086 which feels amazing.

It’s soft and thick and has a great weight to it. But I’m 5'6 so it’s a bit long for me now for the designs all of these are dtg or directed garment prints which is the technique that uses a printer to print designs onto the garment. Printful also offers embroidery and all-over printing as well the printing quality is great. I’m thinking since it’s the first collection let’s keep it clean and simple with just the logo. Maybe later on I can bring in more images and visuals. And so we’ve got our top three onto taking some product photos.

Day 4: Website

Four today we’re creating a website. I’ll be using Wix to make my online store. Wix website builder has14 day free trial, If you join my link you will be able to get discounts upon purchasing after completing the trial. So I’m making sure aligns with my online store or website identity and the color of the web page and font style and copy.

I made a whole tutorial on how I set up my online store using Wix. If you are interested to check it out then the link is here in the article. I’m now adding my products to my Wix site what’s great about printful is that is integrated with a lot of e-commerce platforms like Wix Shopify and Squarespace are helpful and provide facilities to build online stores and add products into online stores and manage daily orders.

So I'll be using photos I shot during my photo shoot as well as the mock-up photos generated by printful which seriously look great and very professional let’s talk pricing and numbers.

If I set the prices of hoodies at 50.99 and it costs 27.90 to print which means I would make a $23 profit per sale. And have a $45 profit margin for the t-shirt. I’m going to be pricing it at $30 it costs $21.90 to print which means I would make $11.99 profit per sale. And have a $31 profit margin. I will say the t-shirt blank I’m using is a bit more on the expensive side but I think the quality is just too good not to use. I

I'm willing to earn less on t-shirts to make sure client satisfaction on top of manufacturing charges they are also dispatching freights and levies though the client generally pays for it I am tête-à-tête going to give free shipping to orders over 35 to the US UK or Canada to hopefully incentivize further purchases other than that all labor storehouse and packaging charges are taken care of by printful.

Day 5: Creating Ads

In five days everything is ready to go online but I have zero dollars for ads. Only seven days to launch this clothing brand. I’m gonna use all of my resources and leverage the following that I have on ticktock to sell these clothes. I get this all the time everyone says that I’m DK from Tokyo drift. That’s because I am a drift king on TikTok.

I am hysterical I have a slight dissociation with my followership that will not restate well into apparel deals. There is only one expressway to detect stop’s movie some crack tocks gliding phraseology. My plan is to upload crack tocks over the last many days in this challenge. Hopefully, we can make many deals hereafter does drifting have merch? I do now oh drift club merch is out right now we got t-shirts we got hoodies.

Day 6: Advertising

Six-day and I will check my ticktock or sales. Let’s see how many views I got on my advertising. It’s around what I usually get on TikTok which is great. However, the views aren’t the most important. The most important number is the number of clothes. This is the right number. It’s alright got ta stay patient. I can suppose of two effects where I could have bettered on or done else.

The first is that I could have made a better Tiktok. The bones I made are getting views but I presumably could have mentioned them. The brand denes more or features the clothes better. The second thing and I think that’s probably the main culprit is that I should have catered to my tick-tock audience better yes my Tiktok audience is drifting enthusiasts. They might not have access to much money.

So maybe I should have made my clothes cheaper and kids tend to like colorful graphics and Monumental designs consequently. Perhaps I should have gone along with the auto designs versus the minimalistic bones. Perhaps we could have appended some further Tokyo drift and jdm rudiments into them as well. Still, the challenge is not over. We still have one further day allow’s know if we can get any deals hereafter.

Day 7: Results of 7 Days of Work

It’s day seven the final day and the end of the challenge. Today I woke up to sales okay. It’s not pretty much but I’m happy we sold something two black hoodies. One to in the u.s and one to someone in France.

Results of 7 Days of Work at an Online Fashion Store. i made 2 sales within 7 days
Results of 7 Days of Work at an Online Fashion Store

I ain’t Ballin but I made a profit minus all of my costs. I made a total of 35.51 what I’m taking away from this challenge is that. One starting a clothing brand is totally possible with no money in seven days. Two you really need to understand your target audience. Three that your brand isn’t going to blow up overnight peace out drifting.

--

--