Starting a new job, from home?

J
Easygo
Published in
3 min readApr 26, 2020

Caelum’s start to life at Easygo Gaming has been different, to say the least. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, he is yet to meet barely anyone. We asked him to reflect on his first few weeks in the company.

Now feels like the most surreal point in our lives.

We’ve been asked to stay indoors and sacrifice a lot as a result of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. It’s been tough on everyone and it’s overshadowing everything else going on in the world right now. Which makes it the perfect time to start a job.

I was elated when I was offered employment here at Easygo Gaming. I felt fortunate enough to even get an interview, let alone go one step further. But with this job, everything else happening in the world feels more or less like an afterthought.

Obviously, it’s hard not to think about it. But in the five weeks I’ve been at Easygo, it’s become less and less apparent.

I’ve met some great people thus far (albeit mostly over calls and in chatrooms) and I can’t wait until everything settles down to properly get to know them. Working from home does have its perks. Not having to worry about whether or not I’m taking lunch into the office or buying something near the office is a plus. Not having to pay for public transport is also a major plus.

But whilst there are pros, there are also cons.

In terms of communication, it’s certainly more difficult not being able to actually speak to your colleagues. Perhaps the most challenging aspect is the mere fact that I’ve only just begun here at Easygo.

When you start a new gig, you need help from those you work with to help you settle in and gain an understanding as to how everything works. Everyone I’ve spoken to has been great and I’ve felt very much like a part of the team.

However, I would be lying if I said I would prefer to work from home. Another challenging part of this whole process was the transition for me moving into full time employment. I had never held a full time job until I started here.

Before that, it was casual and part time work that never lasted longer than six months at a time. For the majority of 2019, I wasn’t working at all. I was lucky enough to find casual employment at a gaming room in the back end of the year, allowing me some spending money for an overseas trip.

Going from the frying pan that was no work, then casual work, then a holiday; then into the fire that is full time employment has been tough. However, one thing I always strive to do is face every challenge head on and give it my all.

Although some part of the job have been hard thus far, I’m itching to begin working onsite with my fellow colleagues once this pandemic has blown over.

--

--