The Joy of Snacking

Villanelle Style Poem on Snacks

Julie Madden
Eat Thinks
Sep 24, 2022

--

Photo by Jeff Siepman on Unsplash

Oh, the joy of snacks
Crunching on those orange spicy paprika pringles
Mmmm just one more

Shortbread, you rich buttery biscuit
My needy hand sneaking you from the tin like something illicit
Oh, the joy of snacks

Buying Malteasers in stacks
Popping your malted milk centre with my tough teeth
Mmmm just one more

Mini sausage rolls I can’t ignore
Vegan or pork wrapped in that crumbly puff pastry that flakes my lips
Oh, the joy of snacks

Filling the basket with chocolate Mini Egg packs
Hunting the aisles for you when Easter comes around
Mmmm just one more

Snacking to me is not a terrible thing
It gives my next step that happy spring
Oh, the joy of snacks
Mmmm just one more!

--

--

Julie Madden
Eat Thinks

Avid bookworm writing my way through the every day of my thirties in London. 🇬🇧