JINYA Chicken Ramen is Good for the Soul; Not Much Else.

Korey Elliott
Eat Your Ath Off
Published in
2 min readDec 15, 2020

Review by Jordan Bischoff

On a slow Sunday evening in downtown Athens, Georgia, I entered Jinya for the first time. The unsuspecting ramen bar was dimly lit and accentuated modern vibes. Opting for a spot at the bar rather than a table, I sat facing the alcohol selection the bar so proudly displayed. The colorful array of local beers both on tap and in cans reinforced my love for eating in one of the many downtown Athens restaurants. There is something so comforting about seeing Terrapin and Creature Comforts on the menu no matter what type of food you are indulging in.

Separated from the closest party to us by a plastic divider, I mentally made a note of how well Jinya seemed to carry out their Covid precautions. Scanning a QR Code for a menu, another popular covid precaution in restaurants right now, I decided to start with a water, and a cocktail called The Lady.

As a bartender in a downtown Athens restaurant myself, I have an appreciation for the art of drink making and a curiosity for what those around us are doing. My drink which was a honey-bell vodka, grapefruit juice, and lemon juice concoction was beautifully presented to me complete with an edible flower, however warranted a subpar five out of ten for taste. What I expected to be the perfect balance of sweet and tart tasted more like a lightly mixed vodka lemonade.

We ordered two appetizers, Brussel Sprouts Tempura and Takoyaki (Octopus Balls!). Both, again, beautifully and creatively presented, and both … not quite living up to the flavorful expectations. The brussel sprouts tempura were a tad bland and could have really benefited from the smallest of seasonings or dipping sauces or any flavoring at all, really. The takoyaki consisted of battered octopus and egg tartar topped with mayonnaise, okonomiyaki sauce, and fresh cut green onion, and despite the consistency of the plate being a little strange, it was definitely the more delicious of the two.

As an inexperienced eater of fancy ramen, I figured I should start out with a choice that wasn’t overwhelming; I ordered the Jinya Chicken Ramen bowl. And it was delicious! The warm chicken broth warmed my insides with one slurp. The noodles happily filled my Italian stomach that so expectedly waits for pasta on Sundays. The green and grilled onions thinly chopped perfectly combined with the noodles and added extra flavor right where it needed to be. With every spoonful of ramen I had, I forgot the disappointments of the appetizers and cocktails and thought to myself, Wow I can’t wait to come back.

--

--

Korey Elliott
Eat Your Ath Off

Korey Elliott is a journalism major with a communication studies minor at the University of Georgia.