Dong Yi Pork Chop

Kevin Wolkober 沃凱文
Eat Drink Taiwan
Published in
2 min readJun 15, 2016

At Dong Yi Pork Chop in Ximen, it doesn’t get much more local than this. Once you step inside, you’re transported back in time to over 45 years ago when this place first opened. Both the interior decorating and music are eclectic. It reminds me of a Yaffa Cafe, a restaurant from New York I often miss.

Dong Yi is known for their pork chop over rice and chicken leg over rice. Each comes as a set with soup, rice, vegetable, and of course, meaty meat. I opted for and thoroughly enjoyed the pork chop set. For this much food at just $140 NT, it’s a great deal.

The minced pork on rice alone was a very solid rendition, and the added pork chop was the cherry on top. While I won’t say it’s the best pork chop I’ve ever had, it’s certainly an above-average one with meat that tears away softly from the bone. The meat and rice is partnered with cabbage, dried tofu, and other green vegetables.

The soup pictured in the set above is pork, ginger, and mushroom soup. Soups are rotated daily, with other options including bamboo shoot soup and miso soup.

No. 61 Yanping S. Road, Zhongzheng District, Taipei City 100
台北市中正區延平南路61號
https://goo.gl/maps/s35LQzeNfZz

--

--

Kevin Wolkober 沃凱文
Eat Drink Taiwan

I write the codes to make the apps. I also make music and an occasional good/bad joke. 愛台灣,偶爾會亂說