Claro

February 23, 2019

Eater and the Starcatcher
Eater Eats
2 min readMar 25, 2019

--

While working as a production assistant for Igudesman and Joo, I met a girl who offered to help me pack up at the end of rehearsal one night. She was the only one out of a group of people that came to watch who did.

I liked her energy, so I connected with her on Instagram. A week or so later, we made plans to get brunch and a week after that, we got brunch.

We ate at Claro, a new Michelin star recipient. We ordered one item each: I got a pork memela (Heritage pork rib, chile de arbol, farm cheese) and she got the roasted beets and avocado tostada (queso fresco, mint).

The dishes were beautiful and delicious. I didn’t get to take notes while eating, because I wanted to focus my attention on getting to know this new person I was with, but I distinctly remember how bright and balanced the flavors of her tostada were.

I was still feeling a bit peckish after we finished the two things we ordered, so we got one more item to share: the huevos oaxaquenos (tomato broth, chicharron, queso fresco).

Typically a morning dish, “huevos oaxaquenos” literally translates to “drowned eggs”. While I enjoyed the flavors, I do wish my eggs had more to drown in.

Claro is somewhere I would be excited to go back to. I’d swap out the pork memela and huevos oaxaquenos for the chance to try something new, but I’d definitely order the tostada again. I’d also get at least 1.5 items per person; just one is not enough.

--

--

Eater and the Starcatcher
Eater Eats

It’s a pun. This is more of a journal for me than content for you.