Bonchon

I’ve been to the one in NYC, but the one in Chapel Hill was pretty darn good, too!

Eater's Digest
Published in
2 min readJun 18, 2018

--

Bonchon is a Korean fried chicken chain. I went with my friend-since-middle-school, Amy. We mostly joked around about dumb things because why not. Even if we’re twenty-somethings, I think we’re both 13 at heart sometimes. Especially when we’re around each other again.

The salad they had was alright. As far as salads go, the best I’ve had were at Watts Grocery and Mad Hatter’s. Happy and Hale has a good selection of them, too.

But what really got me was the ice cream. They had “plant ice cream,” which I didn’t know was a thing until we went there.

It was so adorable. I asked for vanilla ice cream with Oreo crumbs (the “soil”). And there were gummy worms and jellybeans, which added a nice fruity twist to the whole thing.

The leaf they used was mint. Which I wasn’t as psyched about. But it was still good. And the whole ice cream thing was about $3, which is more affordable than most other ice cream places… anywhere.

If their fried chicken was anything like New York’s, then I’d highly recommend it if you’re craving Korean-style fried chicken!

I ordered the sweet and spicy combo. Half sweet, half spicy. Such a delicious combination of flavors 😍

I’d say M Kokko and the fried chicken place in H Mart come close when it comes to quality of Korean fried chicken. But of course, I’m not Korean, so I don’t know what’s most authentic.

But if you wanna splurge a little on some good ol’ fried chicken, consider going to Bonchon! :D

--

--

xine way 🌟
Eater's Digest

Aspiring librarian who writes, games, and walks on the side. Always happy to connect with writers on Medium!