Strawberry & white chocolate tiramisu

Olivia Darmanin
Eatmania
Published in
2 min readMar 1, 2012

This metaphorical dessert can be prepared in so many varied ways that I wouldn’t mind having a differently flavored tiramisu on a daily basis. In that case, I bet my body would mind! I think I would also see some changes in my cholesterol and sugar levels, not to mention the weight on the scales. But, enough of these guilt-stirring facts.

After 11 days secluded in the comfort of my own home, feeling the warmth of the recent rays of sunshine coming through my terrace door, I really needed something to lift me up. So here’s this graceful dessert with yellowish creamy layers of soft, coffee-soaked ladyfingers; this time including buttery white chocolate and fresh strawberries.

Strawberry & white chocolate tiramisu

Ingredients for 4 persons:

  • 3 fresh eggs
  • 150g mascarpone cheese
  • 100g sugar
  • 100g white chocolate
  • 12–14 ladyfingers (aka savoiardi)
  • strong coffee
  • 300ml water
  • 150g strawberries
  • 50g roasted pistachios

Clean the strawberries and slice them into small pieces. Leave 4 good-looking strawberries for decoration.

Melt the white chocolate in a bain-marie and leave to cool. Prepare the coffee by pouring 250ml of water in a saucepan, add 20g sugar and 2 full teaspoons of strong soluble coffee. Stir until sugar has dissolved but do not let it boil.

Beat the 3 eggs with 80g of sugar until the mixture becomes dense and doubles in volume. Add the mascarpone cheese and beat again until smooth. Beat in the white chocolate mixture and mix well.

Prepare your individual glasses or containers. Dip in the sponge fingers into the coffee and place at the bottom of the container, pour some cream, top with strawberries and repeat layers. Finish off with cream, decorate with strawberries and crushed pistachios.

Leave in the refrigerator to set for about 3 hours.

--

--

Olivia Darmanin
Eatmania
Editor for

Passion for cooking, eating and drinking good quality wine has been within me for ages. The older I get the stronger the passion grows.