About…

germayne
eat-pred-love
Published in
2 min readJul 2, 2018

Eat, Pred, Love is a medium where I express my interests in data science, computer science as well as any mathematical concepts which I find interesting from my journey in the data science magical realm.

Data science is an up and coming field in various industries or verticals. One can also argue that it is simply a rebranding of statisticians or computer scientist.

So what is a data scientist?

Josh Wills once quote on twitter:

Data Scientist (n.): Person who is better at statistics than any software engineer and better at software engineering than any statistician.

Another good analogy would be to compare data scientists to chefs. The data will be equivalent to the raw ingredients. Machine learning algorithms, R, python will be similar to kitchen equipment. It is the art for data scientists/ chefs to wipe up something good from it.

About myself…

My personal interests are in state of the art machine learning and deep learning application. I feel that embarking on a data science route requires you to not be afraid of learning. The development currently is rapid and new technologies, APIs, papers are being released on a daily basis.

Since young, I have been intrigued by how artificial intelligence works (see Will Smith’s I,Robot). In my free time, I love to participate in kaggle competitions. If you are curious about the application of data science in different industries, there is no platform as extensive as kaggle.

I hope this platform can bring about some food for thoughts/ help anyone. Feel free to leave some comments in any of the posts :)

--

--